| USD Cart (0)
Ruru
NY
My Style: Casual Chic, Edgy, Low-maintenance cool
Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 3.5
REVIEWS & RATINGS
51 reviews 1 2 3 4 5 6
Cut is strange...
A leather top can be so versatile - if it fits right. I've tried many, but mostly they hang on me like a little boy's tee (I think Vince actually has an item by that name). In other words, boxy body, short sleeve flaring out big time, too tight in the chest but baggy in the waist (I'm 35-24-35). I thought this one with the stretchy back side would fit better - no luck. :( The luggage color is classic, though. All in all, not at all worth the price tag (esp. when only half the shirt is leather). My search continues.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 22, 2011
Love Bop tees, don't love the slv's
I *heart* Bop Basics tees and have bought half a dozen - in recent seasons, shopbop hasn't really done many tees and that's a real shame. The fabric is absolutely awesome and worth the price - better than James Perse at the same price points. The Colleen Tee is no exception - just wish though the sleeves aren't flared on this because the look isn't great.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 26, 2011
Not sexy on me...
This particular model rocks drapey knits - A.L.C., Helmut Lang...she makes these clothes look far more exciting than they look on me. :( I have the same measurements as hers, but the waist of the sz. S is loose by 2" on me and creates a bit of flap. Not sexy... And maybe it's my pasty legs, but I don't look fierce in this. :(
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 19, 2011
Too casual, and sizing is off
I tried this dress in XS. Measurements: 35-24-35. The dress does not look 'lean' on me as it does on the model. The body is baggy (unless the material gets stretched out just from people buying/returning?) and looks like a straight-fit t-shirt. The 'clip' look in the neckline looks really silly on, as feared... :( The sleeves are over-long and on me look frumpy. I was attracted to the gray banded bottom from the pictures, but in person hard to distinguish from the navy body. I was hoping for a 'fierce' but 'throw-on-and-go' look. But this isn't it. By the way - if you're used to A.L.C. fitting tiny, this dress definitely does not conform to that. It fits bigger than the generic contemporary-designer sizing.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 09, 2011
Could have been great!
My measurements are the same as the model's and the S fits me quite nicely. There are a couple of things that would have made this a 5-star: the exposed zipper on the back is like most exposed zippers, they don't follow the curve of your body very well...so, with this dress, you get the upper back sticking out a bit. I wish the fabric weren't rayon - especially in white, it doesn't live up to a $500 dress. In general, surprised about the quality - the exposed zipper's seams are a bit rough.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 04, 2011
Men love it
MM6 does some amazing stuff (Fall '11) but $535 retail for this material was surprising (and not in a good way). The chest on the XS was very restrictive compared to usual, and not even with a bra involved...I sized up to S and decided to live with the loose waist on the S. It's better that way actually, looks less tarty. And lastly the color - in person it looks mustard-y, not pale taupe as in photos (which I wanted). It's hard to find a taupe that's just right. :( But, $160.50 is a no-brainer, esp. as the men in your life will have a hard time not ogling...
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 04, 2011
Best dress purchase of season
Can't believe this was 70% off! This is a bombshell dress that looks so awesome on. Edgy, sexy, not at all sugary-sweet like RT could be. Very designerish and at the same time extremely easy to wear, just pull over head and head out in peep-toe boots.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted August 07, 2011
Great fit; item quality concerning
At first glance this may bring frumpy window drapes to mind - the fit saves it. However, it is unclear whether the item will hold up for more than one wearing. Similar to another reviewer, the dress I received had its boning poking out and jabbing at me. Also, the fabric arrived ripped near the zipper. Reminiscent of outlet condition, at the current discount level this is harder to stomach, never mind that it's extremely uncomfortable (like being needled) when worn. Even with repair, not sure the fabric is robust enough for the boning to keep its shape, even if it hadn't come with the damage to this particular item that previous shoppers had done. I love that the XS fits like a dream (many dresses gape at the waist), though.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Wanted to like these
I wanted to like these. It's been too hot to wear high-heel sandals and the dressy-ish outfits that would go with those - I've spent the entire months of June and July in casual shorts and plain denim minis, and really wanted a 'flatform', dressed-down shoe for days I don't feel like flip-flops. These, like another reviewer said, don't really strike you as $225 MSRP. I like the bands and where they're positioned, but aside from that the material feels wrong for the price. And, I just feel 'cheap' standing in these with tank + shorts on. Switching to a fancier outfit doesn't help either.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Sienna color feels 'off' in person
Love great majority of T by AW - really low price points considering the quality of this diffusion line, too, Wanted to love this tank - but the color Sienna is very orange-y in person. "Yuck" sounds really harsh but that was my first thought when un-wrapping this. *sigh*
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content