Juliet Grace Dallaire
Montreal
My Style: Edgy, Classic, Carolyn Bessette and Amal Clooney
Reviews: 216
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
216 reviews 1 ... 11 12 13 ... 22
L fits 10 to 12 bottom (GAP sizing)
I have a flat butt and SMALL hips. I'm size 10 to 12 (for example, at GAP - US sizing - on bottom). Yet, I feel confident in this skirt. I recently lost more than 30 pounds - from a size 16-18 on bottom to a 10-12. Keep the above in mind as everything is relative and for me, it is a real triumph to be able to wear this skirt and feel great wearing it. I would advise women who are larger on bottom (maybe with a belly - I measure about 43 inches around the bellybutton) - with small SMALL hips - to give the LARGE a try. I didn't think it would fit. I took a chance and I am so happy I did. If this skirt does look too big on me in the eyes of others it is due to my belly, not hips. I found the pleats fall nicely. I desired (and it does) that the hem touch the top of my knees, so I wear it lower than the model. I wear it with dark tights, dark tanks and sweaters, and ballet flats or boots, during the Canadian winters. As a final note, it is a great deal for the sale price IMHO.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Luv Turquoise Subtle Cross and Length
I love turquoise regardless, but the subtly of the cross is what drew me to this piece, not to mention the price. I like the chain very much. I won't hesitate to purchase other Vanessa Mooney pieces with this same style of chain. The length is perfect too. For example, even with a big scarf around my neck, the length of the chain and the turquoise make the necklace standout. It gets noticed. I am unsure how it will pan out with wear, but since it is a dark colour brass to begin with I think it will be just fine. Gold-style brass pieces tend to look old or dirty when they lose their shine IMHO. The brass on this chain is not shiny to begin with. That's a good thing IMHO. If brass dulls, it can be fixed with lemon juice or the like however.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
4 Stars Since It Is Brass & Loses Shine
Gorgeous!!! It can be adjusted to fit very small wrists too. For example, I can fit it onto my granddaughter's 2 year old wrist (not that she would actually be wearing it at this point). The ducks are very detailed. The only flaw is that it is brass and hence won't be shiny as pictured for too long. My copy is very dull and brassy now. But I am told that a bit of lemon could shine it up easily.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 01, 2011
Worn by Countess LuAnn and SJP on TV
LuAnn de Lesseps, known as Countess LuAnn or The Countess from THE HOUSEWIVES OF NEW YORK CITY is seen in at least two 2011 episodes wearing this exact product. Also, an earlier version was worn by Sarah Jessica Parker on HBO's SEX AND THE CITY. At 21 inches in length it is wearable on my "less than" skinny neck. (I am approximately a size 14 to 16 in US tops). Hook-closure allows you to adjust it to be shorter. I measure the wingspan (widest point) to be a little over 5.5"; the butterfly at 4" tall and chain at 20" long. I find the gold tone on these KJL pieces a little too flashy and bright for my tastes. I have an earlier version of the butterfly necklace - with numerous smaller butterfly pendants hanging from a chain - I bought from shopbop around 2 years ago. I never wore it due to the gold-tone. It's still in its little plastic baggy. Luxuriate with oscillating opulence does not work for me. Hahaha.... Just a little gentler gold-tone and it would be perfect!!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 26, 2011
Wool Is Surprisingly Gentle To The Skin
I have this exact scarf in purple. I love the purple, but I am thinking about purchasing the aqua too. 1. The wool is not itchy. 2. The wool is light-weight. 3. The contrast stripes & polka dots is sophisticated and unique. 4. Antik Batik's scarves are very well made. (I have five; three of which I have had for three years. They are timeless & still in the best of condition after endless wears.) 5. Designed in France. Made in India. 6. I bought my purple version at full price; the sale price is quite a deal IMHO. 7. Highly recommend.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 23, 2011
Buy, buy, buy! Worth the money! :0)
This item went on sale back in June 2011. I bought my copy long before that and paid full price, and yet I do not mind. It is exquisite & very special. The whistle works!!! There is a smell on it because it is brass and brass can turn (use lemon if you want to shine it up). However, I have had no problems with my copy. It looks exactly as it did when I bought it. I am delighted to see it back. Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 21, 2011
Lint On It Easily;Lint Brush Needed
I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE this bag. It will likely sell out fast; it did last time. It is so cute. Look at the measurements carefully because it is a small tote. I was pleasantly surprised at just how small. Nonetheless, it can hold a lot. The only problem with the bag and why I give it 4 stars as opposed to 5 stars is that lint, car hair, and other such things stick to it and show up on it very very easily. I cannot stress this enough. I carry a lint brush and anti-static spray in my bag. Finally, my bag did not arrive in the customary box that is suppose to come with all products purchased from the Boutique. This is the 2nd time this happened. This bag arrived in a large (easily damaged paper material) pinstripe Anya Hindmarch envelope.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 17, 2011
I kept it,but it's looks cheap in person
I 100% support the opinion of the previous reviewers who generally thought this bag "looked cheaped" (& returned it). (1) Compared to the peddled leather in my Marc By Marc Jacobs (MBMJ) bags, for example, this is a much cheaper looking (processed) leather. But then again MBMJ bags are 3 to 5 times the price. (2) The push-lock at the front flap may also contribute to the cheap feel. (3) This bag has no frills, including no cloth lining. (4) I even found the interior patch pocket cheap, as it was basically folded over when I put my hand inside the pocket. (4) It is a leather that will scratch. Even when I took it out of the box shopbop sent it in, it had a little scratch already. I thought about returning it as it is very cheap looking and feels cheap too; however, I kept it since it is a nice colour, is a simple style, has a long strap, and is by Madewell.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 11, 2011
Nice, but not extraordinary
Since I wear a lot of Black, I usually like my scarves to be more colourful. I, therefore, would not have purchased this dark scarf had it not been on sale elsewhere. As I say in the title of this review, the wool is gentle to the skin. In addition, the fringe detail throughout is lovely and of course, the MBMJ stamp is the icing on the cake. Don't forget, it's dry clean only. As a final note, given that the scarf is from MBMJ, it may, surprisingly & arguably, seem more suited to "older" women (given the combination of material and colours). I think my grandmother for example would look great in this scarf (but then again, perhaps, someone 40 or 20 would too). I hope so, as I am 40.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 28, 2011
Loved Royal Blue So Much, Bought Tan Too
To effectively illustrate my faith in this brand of scarves, I should start by saying I have no less than 9 YARNZ scarves. Since this scarf is 100% cashmere it is stiffer than the YARNZ scarves that are 50% cashmere/50% silk. Now, if only YARNZ would make two separate scarves - a Royal Blue Leopard one and a Red Plaid one - I'd buy both. A final comment for this rave review: I bought the tan version (which is now sold out) the same day I received my Royal Blue one.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content