| USD Cart (0)
Ruru
NY
My Style: Casual Chic, Edgy, Low-maintenance cool
Reviews: 52
Average Rating: 3.5
REVIEWS & RATINGS
52 reviews 1 2 3 4 5 6
The only skinnies for me
Other than my Development (from the Lim days!) skinnies that I bought by accident before Kate Moss first started the trend (5 years ago?), everything I've tried just looks dead ugly on me, regardless of designer or price. Current/Elliott Stiletto is the only style that works for me. Of course, one generally should size down in C/E from other designer brands.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted June 07, 2012
Cute - just boring
I found this tts for me - have worn Velvet in P for years. I'm 35-24-35 and the P is spot on in the chest, but not fitted to the body otherwise. The P looks on me pretty much the way the S looks on the model, relaxed and pajama-y. I just was hoping the red-orange color were more exciting is all...
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 23, 2012
Yikes - tiny
I'm 5'5",35-24-35. This romper rides way up and the front of it cuts very low - in XS I look like I'm wearing a child's outfit! And the elastic band is pretty snug (not attractive, just reiterates the fact that this fits small). Typically, shopbop models are dressed in size S and upon trying, I'd find the S too loose in 'real life', despite the models having similar measurements while being a ton taller...thus, I'd normally opt for the XS...in this case, the S is actually well-advised! And do note the way the sides are cut super high in the pic - that's how they really are on even an average-height person.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 04, 2012
Could've been great
The long-ish sleeves and high front make this look prim and proper. In theory, the very low back should balance things out (or be an interesting twist/surprise), but I just think it's incongruent. Like, you'll look too stuffy for night, cocktails and parties, but too scandalous for day (brunch, and forget the office). I don't need another dress for art galleries only. Too bad! I like the cut otherwise.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 03, 2012
I'll try again next year
Ah, a 'white' Rocco! I love/adore my black-on-black Rocco (so early Wang, it's strapless), and thought I'd give myself a new summer bag. Alas, the "Parchment" is not white. It's got a dingy gray look. The striation sounds cool on paper, but in reality makes the lambskin feel a lot more like fabric instead - a winter-y corduroy-y hand feel. Sorry, Alexander. To be sure, the production quality has diminished as well since the early days. :(
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted April 26, 2012
Nicer in pictures
These mirrored pumps do not look as fantastic in person as online...also, the quality is reflected in the low price...:( Too bad, as I'm looking for metallics but the top-end designers are all doing either nudes or neons this season. Taking 1/2 size down was a good idea for me, though.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted February 04, 2012
Too conservative?
The double-sleeve seems novel and interesting only if you're close up. As sweater dresses go - it's matronly and librarian-ish, which may help counterbalance someone whose 'type' is more 'tarty', but not if your vibe is classic (this will make you look conservative and suppress the inherent sex appeal of the sweater dress).
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Not truly wearable as a skirt
1) You take the dress out of the plastic bag, and hold it up to see - it'll be immediately obvious, with the front side being much longer/higher than the back, this clearly is cut to be a tube dress (i.e. the curvature of your chest requires more fabric up top, in front). To wear as a skirt (i.e. the curvature of your backside requiring the seat being higher), you'd have to turn the piece back to front, and wear the label on your chest. Short of cutting the label off, I don't know how the label rubbing on the chest would be tolerable. 2) the side seams are on the outside. Obviously the inside-out look has been done over and over and is old news, but frankly with this item, to achieve the supposed dress-or-skirt versatility, the exposed seams really contradict that. Other than these design decisions I find puzzling, the fabric is cozy, and like many items in the T by AW this is a classic/modern piece you can hang onto.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Better than most Add Down jackets
This season's Add Down has improved over previous years. Gone are the obnoxious, 'junior'-look buckles smack in the middle. (Not that this year's giant arm patch logo thing is that great, but at least it's not all that everyone sees when they look at you head on.) The hook/clasp is much classier. The fit has also improved - the 'paunch' last year's version would give you is no more. The hood fits nicely and the overall weight is good. However, I'm disappointed that the color in person is much yellower. It's not the pale color that the photos lead you to believe - it's a lot more of a golden/light khaki. Sizing is a bit looser compared to last year's. What really threw me was I wore 38 in 2011, and the models had on size 40's; this year, they all "switched" to size 38. Even though my measurements are similar, 35-24-35, I would prefer the 40, as I don't like the slight sausage-y look the belt seems to induce on the models.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Could've been great
These have been modeled all over shopbop and they do look great - until you try to move. The fabric back is as tall as the heel height, and 1) this fabric backing wraps your ankle in a weird way and is much too in the way reaching up 1/3 of your calf; 2) fabric feels cheap near what little leather there is on these sandals. If this had been all leather, and shorter in ankle coverage, that'd be different. Thr bows look cute but I really hesitate to spend this kind of money on what's basically 6 leather strips across your feet.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content