ADay
san francisco, ca
My Style: Classic, Casual Chic
Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
23 reviews 1 2 3
Posted March 29, 2012
Good basic but questionable fabric
I ordered this jacket along with the Tahari Melissa blazer in my hunt for a red blazer. This one fit nicely and is a true, deep red. However, the fabric is quite thin. It arrived rumpled and, worse, the seam on the left arm was already splitting in one place and looked poised to split in other areas as well. Overall, it just seemed too thin and flimsy for me to feel like I would be able to wear it frequently.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted March 29, 2012
Beautiful fabric, odd fit
This shirt definitely runs small. I ordered my standard size 4 and it was very tight across the collar bones, bust and upper arms. However, I declined re-ordering in a larger size because the overall fit just wasn't great. The seam between the top two colors hits RIGHT at the bust line and that's never a good look, in my opinion. At this price point, the fit needs to be impeccable.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted March 29, 2012
Fun spring color but...
I felt like a flight attendant from the 1980s in this jacket. I don't know if it was the beige piping or the cut but this was one of those things that is great in theory and just didn't turn out well in execution. Despite the fresh color, it didn't have that modern look I was hoping for at all. Returning.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted March 26, 2012
Fab color blocking but odd fit
I ordered this top in hopes it would be a bright, flowy blouse to pair with my Helmut Lang leather leggings. The colors are indeed great, but the fit on this was so bizarre. I'm typically a straight size 4 (sometimes even a 2 in blouses) so I ordered the 4 in this one but it was extremely tight around the arms and, oddly, through the shoulders and collar bones. Also, the seam between the top two colors (pink and cream) hit me right at the boobs and looked very awkward on. Perhaps in 2 sizes up this would be closer to the effect I want, but I couldn't justify it at this price point.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Gorgeous, substantial lace dress
I ordered this dress in a 6 because it was all that was then available, though I typically take a size 4. This dress definitely runs small--the 6 fit like a glove and the 4 would have been too small! This is a beautiful dress made out of substantial lacy florets--the entire dress itself is quite heavy and fits like a tailored sheath. I bought it to wear for my wedding after I change out of my wedding gown and am deciding whether to keep it or not, the only real downside being the cost given that I will only wear it for an hour or two.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted February 09, 2012
Comfy TB Flats
I personally find Tory Burch's Eddie flats to be far more comfortable than her emblematic Revas. The leather is softer and I never get blisters. They do, however, run a bit small. I forgot this and need to exchange for 1/2 size up--more room in the toe means higher comfort factor. These are a fun, punchy color for spring and will be a good basic flat in my collection!
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted February 09, 2012
Tore Immediately
I'm sending these back, with a hole in one leg after roughly 1 hour of wear! I don't think I've ever had tights tear, so that these did so almost immediately was disappointing. While the top of these is more comfortable than the average pair of tights because of the lack of a middle seam, I found that they sagged at the crotch a bit (probably because of the lack of a middle seam). For $34.00, I certainly expected more in staying power and fit.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted February 09, 2012
Impeccably Constructed Leather Pants
After weeks of consideration of these leggings and months of looking at leather pants, generally, I caved and purchased these. I was strongly influenced by the universally glowing reviews which talk about how well made these pants are, how soft the leather is, and how flattering they fit. It's all true! People say these run large. I ordered my regular size 4 (I'm 5'8, 137 lbs) and found them to be pretty close to skin tight. In fact, I'm contemplating ordering a 6 just to compare to see if they might be a less aggressive look. They are long, but as others mentioned, you can tuck up if you need to and the leather is think enough that there's no bunching. I'm still trying to convince myself I'll actually WEAR these (they may be a little edgy for my personal aesthetic), but I can certainly vouch for the quality and the fit. Certainly worth trying them!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Gorgeous Coat in On Trend Color
I tried this coat on in the DVF store and then went back and forth about it before decided to purchase it from Shopbop. I'm thrilled I did. The burgandy color is huge this fall and I like the way this coat is a mix of a blazer and a substantial pea coat--because I live in a mild climate, this style of coat works particularly well and will get lots of wear!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 22, 2011
Beautiful color; weird fit
Kate Middleton wore this dress beautifully on her recent US/Canada tour. I intentionally sized up because DVF dresses often run small for me. The fit was good but something weird happens up at the armpits. I think because the neckline is so high in the front and then dips into a V in the back, it creates this weird collection of extra fabric in the armpit area. It's so extreme that I suspect it was pinned back in the picture shown here. I really wanted to keep this dress because the color is fabulous and the silk feels luscious, but I just couldn't get over the fit issues.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content