Ruru
NY
My Style: Casual Chic, Edgy, Low-maintenance cool
Reviews: 46
Average Rating: 3.5
REVIEWS & RATINGS
46 reviews 1 2 3 4 5
Posted February 04, 2012
Too conservative?
The double-sleeve seems novel and interesting only if you're close up. As sweater dresses go - it's matronly and librarian-ish, which may help counterbalance someone whose 'type' is more 'tarty', but not if your vibe is classic (this will make you look conservative and suppress the inherent sex appeal of the sweater dress).
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Not truly wearable as a skirt
1) You take the dress out of the plastic bag, and hold it up to see - it'll be immediately obvious, with the front side being much longer/higher than the back, this clearly is cut to be a tube dress (i.e. the curvature of your chest requires more fabric up top, in front). To wear as a skirt (i.e. the curvature of your backside requiring the seat being higher), you'd have to turn the piece back to front, and wear the label on your chest. Short of cutting the label off, I don't know how the label rubbing on the chest would be tolerable. 2) the side seams are on the outside. Obviously the inside-out look has been done over and over and is old news, but frankly with this item, to achieve the supposed dress-or-skirt versatility, the exposed seams really contradict that. Other than these design decisions I find puzzling, the fabric is cozy, and like many items in the T by AW this is a classic/modern piece you can hang onto.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Better than most Add Down jackets
This season's Add Down has improved over previous years. Gone are the obnoxious, 'junior'-look buckles smack in the middle. (Not that this year's giant arm patch logo thing is that great, but at least it's not all that everyone sees when they look at you head on.) The hook/clasp is much classier. The fit has also improved - the 'paunch' last year's version would give you is no more. The hood fits nicely and the overall weight is good. However, I'm disappointed that the color in person is much yellower. It's not the pale color that the photos lead you to believe - it's a lot more of a golden/light khaki. Sizing is a bit looser compared to last year's. What really threw me was I wore 38 in 2011, and the models had on size 40's; this year, they all "switched" to size 38. Even though my measurements are similar, 35-24-35, I would prefer the 40, as I don't like the slight sausage-y look the belt seems to induce on the models.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Could've been great
These have been modeled all over shopbop and they do look great - until you try to move. The fabric back is as tall as the heel height, and 1) this fabric backing wraps your ankle in a weird way and is much too in the way reaching up 1/3 of your calf; 2) fabric feels cheap near what little leather there is on these sandals. If this had been all leather, and shorter in ankle coverage, that'd be different. Thr bows look cute but I really hesitate to spend this kind of money on what's basically 6 leather strips across your feet.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 23, 2012
Should've been more exciting...
For the price point, and DSQUARED2 in general, I hoped this would've been much more interesting. Instead, it's just a tight dress (which chances are, most people looking at this page already have a ton hanging in their closets. I do like the double layer and the general han feel of the fabric, though.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Cut is strange...
A leather top can be so versatile - if it fits right. I've tried many, but mostly they hang on me like a little boy's tee (I think Vince actually has an item by that name). In other words, boxy body, short sleeve flaring out big time, too tight in the chest but baggy in the waist (I'm 35-24-35). I thought this one with the stretchy back side would fit better - no luck. :( The luggage color is classic, though. All in all, not at all worth the price tag (esp. when only half the shirt is leather). My search continues.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 22, 2011
Love Bop tees, don't love the slv's
I *heart* Bop Basics tees and have bought half a dozen - in recent seasons, shopbop hasn't really done many tees and that's a real shame. The fabric is absolutely awesome and worth the price - better than James Perse at the same price points. The Colleen Tee is no exception - just wish though the sleeves aren't flared on this because the look isn't great.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 26, 2011
Not sexy on me...
This particular model rocks drapey knits - A.L.C., Helmut Lang...she makes these clothes look far more exciting than they look on me. :( I have the same measurements as hers, but the waist of the sz. S is loose by 2" on me and creates a bit of flap. Not sexy... And maybe it's my pasty legs, but I don't look fierce in this. :(
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 19, 2011
Too casual, and sizing is off
I tried this dress in XS. Measurements: 35-24-35. The dress does not look 'lean' on me as it does on the model. The body is baggy (unless the material gets stretched out just from people buying/returning?) and looks like a straight-fit t-shirt. The 'clip' look in the neckline looks really silly on, as feared... :( The sleeves are over-long and on me look frumpy. I was attracted to the gray banded bottom from the pictures, but in person hard to distinguish from the navy body. I was hoping for a 'fierce' but 'throw-on-and-go' look. But this isn't it. By the way - if you're used to A.L.C. fitting tiny, this dress definitely does not conform to that. It fits bigger than the generic contemporary-designer sizing.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 09, 2011
Could have been great!
My measurements are the same as the model's and the S fits me quite nicely. There are a couple of things that would have made this a 5-star: the exposed zipper on the back is like most exposed zippers, they don't follow the curve of your body very well...so, with this dress, you get the upper back sticking out a bit. I wish the fabric weren't rayon - especially in white, it doesn't live up to a $500 dress. In general, surprised about the quality - the exposed zipper's seams are a bit rough.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content