en
US
USD
TibiLover
Dallas, TX
Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 3.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
53 reviews 1 2 3 4 5 6
really cute style/print! tricky color
The style of this top looks great, and the print is bad*ss. The fit is a little boxy, but still flattering, and true to size. Unfortunately, the color really wasn't great on me (I have pale, olive skin). Still, I would have kept it, but the lilac skort shown with it looked awful on me, and I couldn't find anything cute to go with it besides skinny jeans/pants, and I avoid pants at all costs during the summer.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 15, 2012
nothing special
This top does fit a bit tent-like, as the previous reviewer noted, but really the same as Tibi racer back tanks usually fit. Personally, I recommend going down a size, if you can. I'm a 30D-32C and the bust in size 0 fits fine on me, as long as I wear an unpadded bra. However, this particular tank is unlined, and the fabric is sort of shiny. I would have preferred this tank if it were in a more matte silk, and either lined or in heavier fabric. In this particular fabric, unlined, the ivory top, looks a bit too much like lingerie. However, I do like how the ivory color is more of a clear off-white, and not the least bit yellowish. If you just really need a basic tank to complete an outfit, as I did, this will do the trick, but it's really not particularly cute on it's own.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 15, 2012
cute, but a bit straight through hips
I'm still not really sure how I feel about the print of these shorts. I primarily ordered them for the cut and the colors, which I love. I probably would have kept them if they weren't a bit too tight through the hips. However, to be fair, they fit the same in size 0 as some Tibi bird-print basket weave shorts I have from a couple years back. Really, I would say these fit true to size through the hips, and a bit large in the waist, so they ride up on me. Still, if, unlike me, you've actually been to the gym in the past year, these will probably fit fine. I ordered the refined tank in black from Tibi, and I think that would look best with these, except in fern or lilac instead of black. I honestly might have kept the shorts had I been able to find the refined tank in those colors. I really think the refined tank looks better than the racer back tank with these shorts, as it looks less bare and more sophisticated.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 15, 2012
Huge
I'm 5'8", around 112, and the 0 in this is huge on me, especially through the waist. It fit fine in the bust area, but I'm a 30D-32C. Even tucked into the Layla shorts, it looks a bit ridiculous, and there is more fabric than I can figure out what to do with. It fits even larger than a CDC tank I have from last year of nearly the same style. Thus, if you are not large busted, I recommend going down a size. Still, as this is the only top (besides the tie front blouse) I could find to go with the Layla shorts, I would have settled for the subpar fit. Unfortunately, the color was also really unflattering on me. I'm half-Italian, have almost black hair, and pale, olive skin, so I normally look good in light blue. However, something about this shade makes me look sallow to the same effect as, say, a pale yellowish green (shudder).
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 09, 2012
Fit's small for Tibi
This jacket fit true to size, but smaller than Tibi normally fits. I normally have a problem with Tibi tops being too large, but this jacket was actually too small on me in a size 0. The style is cute but not as cute as I expected, considering all the rave reviews. Also, the basket weave does not seem very practical or durable, especially in white. I really couldn't find anything in my closet it would look that great with, and I wear a lot of Tibi. Anyway, if you are tall, I recommend sizing up from your normal Tibi size. As for the arms being tight-fitted, I did not have a problem with that, but I have skinny arms. However, I did not have enough length or enough room in the chest and shoulders.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 13, 2012
Cute but large in waist
I love this skort, but it does fit large in the waist. Even in a 0, I have to either figure out how to wear a belt with it or get it taken in. Once again, I'm going to call BS on either the model's measurements or the alleged size she is wearing. There is just no way a size 2 is fitting the model like that without being pinned up. Still, the skort looks great with pretty much anything and is really flattering and easy to wear. However, there is no skirt panel in the front, as I would have assumed. Rather they are essentially just pleated shorts, and you can actually see that they are shorts from the front.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 12, 2012
For short women
First of all, I like the color and print of this dress, and I would also like the fit if the torso was cut a bit longer. I tried this on at the Tibi store in NY. This dress was really short and the waist on this dress was cut too high to be flattering on me. Normally this would be fine. However, this dress would require my boobs to relocate at least an inch upward to be flattering, and that's just not happening. As is, this dress was pulled forward, and not fitted at the waist. I'm 5'8" and I wear a 0 in Tibi. On me, it looked like I was wearing a children's size 12 or 14. Still, I think this dress would look really good on someone shorter.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 12, 2012
Disappointing
First of all, I will say that the cut of the shoulders is genius. You can't really tell from the picture, but there are folds at the shoulders allowing for extra fabric to allow for comfortable arm extension. I love this aspect of the jacket. I also like the color, but honestly not as much as I expected. Royal blue is one of my favorite colors to wear, but there is something a little too harsh about this shade. Overall I was disappointed with this jacket. The felt material is not as smooth as I would like. The lapels do not lay well, and the hardware is subpar. The zipper in particular is not user friendly. I took the advice of previous reviewers and ordered a 0, though I normally wear a 2 in jackets, and sometimes a 4 for length, shoulder room, and to eliminate pulling across the chest. Still, the fit is very boxy, as is clearly intended but really not so flattering on me. I think the pictures at Otte do a better job representing the fit of this jacket.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Teeny tiny, subpar quality
I'm 5'8, 110, normally wear a 0-2, 25, XS, you know the drill. Anyway, I tried these on in XS at Saks and they are TINY. I know shopbop claims a rise of 12 inches, but I swear in XS the rise wasn't high enough for me to wear them high waisted without giving myself a serious wedgie. Also, the waist band is tight, and trust me I never think the waist band is tight. Normally have trouble finding anything high-waisted that actually fits at the waist. These might fit true to size if you are short and have a small waist. Otherwise, I'd recommend going up a size. I also just don't like the material or print all that much personally. I also pay a lot of attention to the shape of a garment, and well, even though I don't know how to sew, I feel comfortable saying that you could probably make these yourself.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 07, 2011
AWESOME PRINT, weird fit
I love love love this print. Last fall, after seeing all the Moorish architecture and textiles in Andalusia, I remember wishing I could wear prints of similar design. I suppose Opening Ceremony got their inspiration for the Spring 2011 collection from Morocco, so these shorts were like a dream come true. Unfortunately, they these shorts weren't flattering on me. The XS fits like a 2. The waist was a little too big on me but I'm a 0 in the waist. There is also a lot of extra fabric in the hips. That is clearly the style, but it just makes my hips and but look disproportionately large, since I'm a bit pear shaped. These would probably look really cute on someone a little straighter like the model and with a seriously perky butt. They also really need to be worn at the true waist or they won't look right. I thought about having these taken in, but I didn't want to risk messing up the style of the shorts.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content