hebrown1
Minneapolis, MN
My Style: Casual Chic, Girly
Reviews: 142
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
142 reviews 1 ... 13 14 15
Posted November 17, 2011
Probably just not for me...
I ordered this top in oyster, size small. I had been looking for a lightweight tunic style sweater in a cool shade of ivory to wear with fitted bottoms and decided to give this one a try. First of all, the one I received was defective, it had an area under the arm where it appeared the seam was coming undone, and a pull in the back. I'm not sure if this means the fabric would be very delicate and prone to pulling but it did concern me. The color was more of a pale gray than ivory which was not a dealbreaker, but not quite what I expected. Finally, it just was not very flattering on my body type (short and busty but small elsewhere). It just sort of hung there and the sleeves were very long and loose. It may have been more flattering in an x-small but I'm not sure. The fabric did feel very nice and I liked the subtle details with the exposed seams and triangle panel at the sleeve. I may try it in the lavender in an x-small if it goes on sale later.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 17, 2011
Not quite what I expected
I was looking for a pair of long black fingerless gloves and I was very excited when I saw them at Shopbop. Unfortunately, I found the fabric a little scratchy and the thumbholes were very large. A good part of my palm was hanging out. I could have gotten around the scratchy fabric issue but the thumbholes bothered me. I saw a pair of silk/cashmere gloves on another site and decided to try those instead.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 08, 2011
Cute booties
I have these in the taupe, I ordered from another site. I also tried the cognac which was beautiful, but the taupe worked better with my wardrobe. I did not have any trouble getting them on, but I always wear some kind of liner with my boots, perhaps those who complained tried them with bare feet? I just grab the sides and pull. I do have a fairly high instep as well. I ordered an 8.5, my usual size, and it fit comfortably. I may have been able to go down to an 8 but I don't like tight shoes, so I decided to stick with the 8.5. There is not a whole lot of padding in the shoe so I may add an insole, but since it is a fairly low heel they are still fairly comfortable even when I'm on my feet for a few hours. If they had more padding they would have gotten 5 stars. My foot is slightly wide and these worked well for me.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 03, 2011
Beautiful top--but size down!
This is a wonderful, drapey piece, like a t-shirt but much classier. I initially ordered a small and found it overwhelmed my frame--I'm 5'3". The cowl hung too low as well. I then ordered an x-small and found it much more flattering. I am a 34DD bust so sometimes sizing can be tricky but there was plenty of room in this. It feels like silk on the skin and while it is lightweight it is not too sheer, no need for a cami. Very happy with my purchase.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Great sweater--inconsistent sizing
I ended up with two of these in the same size (small) and one was noticeably shorter than the other. So I can see why some have complained about the length. I ended up keeping the longer one, and I'm only 5'3" so taller people may want to size up. I think the pockets help with the draping of this sweater so I won't be removing them, but sometimes you can see them popping out of the bottom of the sweater. The cashmere is a lighter, sheerer weight than I expected (not a bad thing!) but not see through because of the looseness and draping. Sawdust color is beautiful, kind of a pinky, peachy beige--excellent for my skintone. I eyeballed this sweater last year and finally took the plunge--glad I did, it is a beautiful statement sweater.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Great color and fit
After reading prior reviews, I ordered my normal size 27. I have two other pairs of C/E but both are boyfriend style, the 27 is way oversized and the 26 is still loose. The 27 in this fit great but with the pair I received there was a strange wrinkling around the pockets. I decided to order another pair of 27s to compare and on a whim ordered a 26 too. I am so glad I ordered the 26! I thought the 27 looked great but the 26 was even better. The pocket problem is gone and they curve up perfectly along the backside. Most jeans have eliminated the "gap" in back but for me there is still a lot of looseness there...not with these. They are still very comfortable and I don't have any muffin top. Color is as pictured...beautiful!
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 17, 2011
Unflattering sweater!!
I was intrigued by the design of this sweater with the uneven hemline so I thought I'd give it a try. I ordered my usual small. The sweater is very fitted around the hip area and loose through the waist (I'm not particularly hippy). I am 5'3" but it was also very long. In the photo the model has it bunched up around her waist. I tried pulling it down and it was nearly to my knees in back, and the looseness around the waist was not flattering. I tried pushing it up as well and the bunching around the waist was also not flattering! The hemline was also not very flattering in real life. I think this sweater requires a very specific body type (not mine). If you are looking for a small which is sold out now one will be arriving shortly!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 15, 2011
Go with the 8R if you're short
I ordered these boots about a year ago. I was a new mommy in a cold climate and even though I was not sure about how the style looked on me I kept them, and they did serve me well although they pulled my socks down. I think because of my height (5'3") they end up hitting me at an awkward unflattering place on my calf and I look like I have clown feet with fitted pants, so I only wore them with loose ones. I ended up getting an 8R this year and they are much better for me! Much more versatile. I think this is why Frye offers two heights. I guess I will be selling this pair on Ebay! BTW, many say to go a half-size down in Frye and I don't think in this boot you need to do that, unless you have very narrow feet (I don't).
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 15, 2011
Huge looking boot
First of all, I am a small person with big feet. I ordered my usual 8.5 in Frye, and could have probably gone down half a size in length, however this boot was narrower in the foot than my other Fryes (Engineer & Carmen). I might have tried a half size down but the shaft area looked huge on me, even after adjusting the straps. This boot would probably look better on someone with more proportionate feet. I could not justify the price for a boot I was lukewarm about, so these went back.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 13, 2011
Delicate but strong necklace
This necklace is very versatile, I wear it often. I did purchase the matching earrings as well. My only complaint is it does get tangled up easily, you need to lay it flat to store it, and don't even think about throwing it in your gym bag! It strong and well made though so with all the times I've had to untangle it it's never broken. I've had mine for a few years and I am very happy with my purchase.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content