shopahoplic
NYC
My Style: Bohemian, Classic
Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
33 reviews 1 2 3 4
Body glove, but classic
I agree that this dress is rather "body con." It definitely runs one size smaller than what I typically take in DVF. It hugs every curve from the neck to knee, so if that makes you uncomfortable, I wouldn't recommend this dress to you. I ordered both colors, and I kept just the charcoal grey. The high neckline and conservative color balance the hugging fit, which makes it a nice piece, in my view. The purple color was pretty, but not as classic as the grey.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 19, 2012
Too much
Like a lot of Rachel Pally, this skirt is too much fabric, too heavy, too long, too wide, etc. There's too much fabric to be flattering, and it weighs a ton. Not the easy, breezy skirt I was looking for. Even the color looked muddier and less "beachy" in person.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 16, 2012
Not a god fabric
I usually love Theory, but the material of this dress was oddly thick and itchy. No lining, so it was rather unwearable for me.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 16, 2012
Not a useful slip
Too sheer, too baggy, too long. Didn't do anything for me. Would have kept them to sleep in , as they are soft, but they aren't particularly flattering either. Retuned both the ones I ordered.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 11, 2012
Nice fit and fabric
I really like this dress and think I will get lots of use out if it in several seasons. Not at all sheer and not too heavy. The fabric is smoothing and doesn't cling. Outlines the shape nicely. Was too long on me, but I am 5'2" so that's no surprise. I am wearing it tonight with high boots and a belt. Got it in three colors. Took off one star bc it's not spectacular. But well made and versatile.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 30, 2011
Looks like pyjamas
I love Splendid's waffle material -- I think it's their best yet -- and have five tops in this knit. I was excited to get this dress thinking I could wear it with everything from winter boots to flip flops in the summer. Sadly, the dress lacked shape and looked a little dumpy on me. Even with a belt and a short jacket, I didn't think it worked. I could have kept it as a sleep shirt since the fabric is so sumptuous, but the cost wasn't worth it for me. Also, the Swan color was a bit too pink and "off" compared to the nice Swan color tops I already have.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 29, 2011
Wonderful Top
This top is made of a drapey, light knit that falls beautifully on the body. The neckline is sexy without being too revealing. I hope I can get away with wearing this without an undergarment, as it looks on the model. It isn't see thru, it's just that you can see contours, if you know what I mean. Very flattering color on bare skin. Will definitely purchase from this brand again.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 28, 2011
Not as nice as the cotton version
I adore the cotton version -- in fact, it's my favorite top and I have four of them and counting. I am always a small in the cotton, but this top felt clinging and unflattering in this knit. Not flattering to the tummy area or arms. I didn't mind the contrast btn, the sleeves and the body, the fit was just off. Also, not as comfy and delicious as the stretch cotton version. That's my preference, anyhow.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 22, 2011
Feel great, but are not leggings
I'm going to call these long undwear bc they certainly cannot be worn on their own. They are sheer and have really unflattering multiple seams along the rear end, which make it look like an undergarment. You absolutely cannot wear these as leggings. That having been said, they feel really nice. The outside is a smooth nylon and the inside is a thin fleece layer. I bought three pairs to wear under pants in the harsh winter weather, so I do like them. But please don't expect these to be leggings! Also, the fit runs large in the wide waist, feels shapeless up top.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 21, 2011
Delicious Material
This is the BEST material Splendid uses! And if you love Splendid's scrumptious casual clothes, you know that says a lot. The knit is substantial yet doesn't feel heavy. There is a good amount of stretch so it feels great. The waffle texture adds some dimension without being a pattern, so the tops are really versatile with everything from jeans to leggings to corduroys. Great length to wear with leggings, as they are elongated through the body. I have 3 of these in the cowl neck (grey, black, and the wonderful creamy Swan color) and one in the sweatshirts style (Swan). I have lived in them on weekends during the fall and so far this winter. They wash and wear beautifully. I rely on them 2-3 times a week. I am considering getting the dress version to sleep in!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content