Juliet Dallaire
Montreal, Canada
My Style: Casual Chic, Classic, Minimalism-Love Carolyn Bessette Kennedy
Reviews: 209
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
209 reviews 1 ... 17 18 19 ... 21
Posted December 23, 2010
3/4 cm wide is far nicer than 1 cm wide
IMHO & for my particular tastes, the petite Ivory/Gold pearl studs--at 5/16" (3/4 cm) wide--are even more beautiful than the larger 3/8" (1 cm) wide version, of which I own two White pairs and one Tahitian Grey pair. In previous reviews, several customers mentioned the 3/8" (1 cm) earrings were "too large." Even though I like both sizes, the smaller version is by far my favourite. In fact, the next order I make via shopbop.com will include a second pair of the PETITE pearl studs. IMHO they look more expensive than $20. I suspect these will sell out rather quickly. On a final note, I have ranked the PETITE pearl studs as "Smaller than Expected." However, this is meant as a compliment and partly due to the fact that I am terrible at comparing 3/4 cm to 1 cm in my mind's eye. I need to see it. And what I see is FABulous!!! Thank you shopbop for carrying Juliet & Company. Thank you for the fast, friendly, & FREE S&H to Canada. You rock!!!
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 22, 2010
Big&Beautful (May Be Too Heavy For Some)
This gorgeous bag is more brownest than the typical greenish khaki that comes to mind when I read the description as "khaki." However, I must admit that upon even a fleeting examination of the images, I should have not been surprised as the brownest colour you see is what you will get. I LOVE IT!!! Big & Beautiful!!! I thought the length was larger than the picture, but it is 18"L. This bag is going to be great for school. It holds quite a lot (as another said, "wallet, books, laptop, sweater, and still have room for lunch"). I have been using it non-stop since I bought it on 2010-12-11. Very sturdy canvas that you won't have to worry about 'beating around' too much. One might argue that the zip gusset and metal grommets at sides and bottom makes it a little heavy (when filled). Thank you ShopBop!!! Marc Jacobs Rocks!!! :0) :0) :0)
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Kindness Is Always Fashionable
This is an appropriately simple tote with a very powerful statement (i.e., "Kindness Is Always Fashionable").Not only is it a lovely tote & a keepsake (e.g., Each $20 tote features the signatures of 83 of Roy's friends. Oprah Winfrey & Jay-Z are amongst them), but most important of all.... In July 2010 heavy monsoon rains left one fifth of Pakistan's land area underwater. Six months later there is still an urgent need for food, clean water, and safe shelter. For each tote sold, Rachel Roy will donate $20 to the US Fund for UNICEF's disaster relief and recovery efforts for the victims of the Pakistan floods.A totally fashionable purchase for a mere $20.Plus, the tote can go with almost any outfit & send a mighty message to folks who get a glance at the lettering.In closing, I should mention that I bought only one of the totes but dearly wish I had bought more to give to friends as holiday and post-holiday gifts. Bravo Rachel Roy!!! Bravo shopbop.com for carrying such a product!!!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Recommend at $79.20 sale price/BIGBIGBIG
Wearing it this very minute.Typing just fine.Imagine shortly I'll have to remove it.OK,hand very tired from weight of ring.It's coming off.Ordered ring at the sale price of $99.00 on 2010-12-11;however,had I waited @ 3 days I would've bought it for $79.20 given the EXTRA20 holiday cheer special.EXTRA20 actually started before ring reached me via UPS.Pay customs for every $ spent at shopbop;hence,the savings equals more than the price tag for me.Shopbop is TERRIFIC but really needs standard price adjustments even for events like EXTRA20 IMHO & not just as a courtesy price adjustment on items marked down within 7 days of purchase.The 7-day policy is appreciated however.Alas,I just learned about it.As for said ring,it has A Peace Treaty tag attached that comes off;but I wish A Peace Treaty was stamped onto back of ring (there' s room, lol).Fully adjustable for 8+ring fingers like me,but careful adjusting it as it might break.Right now,like it enough to consider silver.Covers @ 1/2 of hand
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Seems Plastic, Not Wood As Advertised
I own scores of Alkemie pieces (e.g., Owl Necklace, Buddha Lock Bracelet, Buckle Cuff, Buddha Earrings, Buddha Rosary, Peace Gun Necklace, & More).I adore this company.I wanted to love the Rosary Necklaces.In fact, I ordered 3 different versions of the Rosary Necklace (Owl & Hasma Hand too) at 3 different times.Why try 3 times?I was hoping that each prior order was a poorly manufactured fluke.Alas,I returned all 3.I even asked a shopbop rep, the 2nd time I ordered, if the beads were wood.She replied in the affirmative.I think she simply read the description.This product seems cheap IMHO because the beads appear to be made from cheap plastic, even though the description states "wood-beaded chain necklace." The sliver links between the beads add to the cheap aura IMHO.I am so sorry to post this particular review as I love this company; however, perhaps my experience might help someone.The designers are gifted artists & environmentally conscious.I will continue to buy from Alkemie.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Elastic Bracelet Seems Delicate
THE NEGATIVE FOR ME: Unless you are an elephant aficionado and/or Vanessa Mooney devotee you might consider purchasing a sturdier bracelet for a similar price. I paid approximately $10 customs on top of the $35 price tag (since I am in Canada); hence, I consider the customs price tag in my cost-benefit analysis. The clear elastic string under the assorted gold-plated beads worries me as it seems rather flimsy or fragile. I might have returned this item, except I do not get FREE S&H on returns since I am in Canada. THE POSITIVES FOR ME: The piece is clearly created to feel unique and one of a kind. Moreover, it can be easily layered or worn on its own with a unique-to-you effect.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 02, 2010
How do I luv thee?Let me count the ways.
1.Machine wash in cold water on delicate cycle in a mesh bag.Hence,no dry cleaning bills.2.The combination 95% cotton 5% silk is soft,but w/o the challenges of 100% silk (e.g.,so comfortable, I can wear it all day as part of an outfit).3.It's limited edition;my scarf is #11 out of 100 manufactured.4.A cloth cartoon of how to wear scarves in different ways is attached to each Leigh & Luca scarf;also, the scarf will arrive in a plastic bag with the same cartoon stamped on it.I luv the plastic bag too.LOL.5.I like the chocolate brown pattern on my Best of Nirvana Scarf more than the pink velvet on pink on this version though.6.The colour is perfect for my complexion (reddish-blond hair).7.I'm plus size,but the 4' wide by 4' is perfect on me & I can wear it in many ways (e.g.,triangle scarf).If you can afford it, & luv scarves like I do and wear them all the time, IMHO it is worth the sale price of $115 US. I paid $35 customs per scarf (I'm in Canada) on top of that & I'm happy nonetheless
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
How do I luv thee?Let me count the ways.
1.Words such as forgiveness, gratitude, poise, creativity, bliss, love, & peace appear on the scarf. 2.The combination 95% cotton and 5% silk makes it soft, but without the challenges of 100% silk (e.g., so comfortable, I can wear it all day as part of an outfit). 3.It's limited edition; my scarf is #120 out of 180 manufactured. 4.A cloth cartoon of how to wear scarves in different ways is attached to each Leigh & Luca scarf; also, it comes in a plastic bag with the same cartoon stamped on the bag. I even love the plastic bag. 5.The velvet pattern is gorgeous & though I have tons of scarves, I've never seen the use of velvet like this before. 6.The colour is perfect for my complexion (reddish-blond hair, blue eyes, etc.). 7.I'm plus size, but the 4' wide by 4' long is perfect on me (e.g, I can wear it as the model wears it very easily, or in a triangle). 8.I luv the bird pattern. 9.Made on 100+ year old looms. Worth the sale price of $115 US, with an added $35 US customs.5+/5 stars.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 26, 2010
Brown Ring @ Wrist & Hairs Get Caught
NEGATIVE:After wearing it from 11AM-5PM,I noticed a brown ring formed on my wrist (much like brass jewelry causes blue or green rings).NEGATIVE 4 ME:The hairs on my lower arm, near my wrist get caught in the strap, & can be painful.I like to wear it over my sweater sleeve therefore.POSITIVE 4 ME:I love the masculine look.Very masculine; so much so that others might think you're wearing your husband's/boyfriend's (etc.) watch.POSITIVE 4 ME:I luv how it has a big face&wide strap, & slides up-down a little on one's wrist.In other words, it doesn't stay in one spot like most watches.I'm plus size, 18 on top though & I respect the other comment that reads, "The band is stretchy and huge! There's no way this watch fits on a women's wrists without having to be sized." So keep your body size in mind.I'm not skinny & hence need bigger things such as earrings, watches, purses, etc.).If UR bigger like me,it might work better 4U.I pay customs in addition to the $80 U.S. price&I'm happy re: price.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 24, 2010
Ball-Chain Necklace Too Delicate
The Negative: The ball-chain connector clasp is a little bit tricky to handle and looks cheap (the chain looks cheap too). I am afraid the clasp will break if I open/close the necklace too many times. Worst still, I worry the connector might come undone, or the chain may break and fall off my neck without my notice. The Positive: The functional mini harmonica pendant is the BEST part, although my copy came a little scratched up on both sides. The see-through magnetic box it is packaged in is very cool.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content