Juliet Dallaire
Montreal, Canada
My Style: Casual Chic, Classic, Minimalism-Love Carolyn Bessette Kennedy
Reviews: 209
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
209 reviews 1 ... 12 13 14 ... 21
Reminds Me Of Carrie's Bags in Sex&City
This bag reminds me of the film "Sex and the City II". It calls to mind the large Alexander Wang bag Carrie Bradshaw is carrying is in the market, as well as the Vintage bag she carries when she is wearing the Zac Posen blouse/skirt and the J'Adore Dior shirt in an earlier scene in the same market. I already bought this bag in the dark navy on sale for myself, but when it arrived my daughter claimed it. So I am going to purchase a 2nd one in dark navy for myself. I love this bag that much!!! I think the leather handles are very good quality, though of course I respect the earlier reviewer who had a different opinion (and perhaps I am totally wrong). I love how large the bag is as it is good for shopping or for dragging to school (it's hard to find a big enough bag for my long clipboards etc.). I would buy the white version too if it became available again. The colours are so beautiful. And on top of all of that, my favourite flower is the sunflower. Thank you shopbop!!!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 04, 2011
Very Plain But Classic
LESS POSITIVE: The peddle leather is very soft. I wish it were tougher so that it would keep its shape when not filled. LESS POSITIVE: It it very plain. POSITIVE: It is is very plain which means it will stand the test of time. POSITIVE: I wore it as a cross-body (I'm a teacher) and love it. POSITIVE: It reminds me of what classy ladies like Grace Kelly, Jennifer Aniston, Audrey Hepburn, & Caroline Bessette Kennedy would or would've carried. TRUE TO SIZE: Another reviewer said it was larger than expected; however, I thought it was very true to size. Maybe this is because "the bigger the better" is my motto. When I look at bags online I go over and over the dimensions. I wish it was a little longer actually. I am a MBMJ fan and if you are too, and can afford it, I say buy buy buy if you like classic styles.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Was On Sale On Shopbop Previously, 5+/5
I love this style so much. I bought the green and tan for my daughter (on sale) & the red and black for myself (on sale). This is the identical black bag that was sale back in August 2011. In a review for the others, I mentioned a "drawback" ... "even with lots of books, papers, etc. inside the bag, the bottom is not heavy enough to stay flat". This turned out to be a non-issue. The flaw lay with me. It was the way I had positioned the books and papers. Lay your books flat inside and it looks just like the image. The black is very pretty as it is classier than the other colours. I use it nearly everyday (I'm a teacher). Moreover, from my perspective the logo is still very visible despite the dark colour. The black bag is my favorite of the four colours. I think a person would be lucky to get this bag, but you may want to wait until it goes on sale again. I paid $124.60 for it on sale; but even after that, I saw it on shopbop for a sale price of $90.
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 02, 2011
Telling Time Not Easy Due To Colours
I love this watch. I bought it on 14 May 2011 and I have worn it almost every day since. Today is 2 October 2011. A warning however: It is not easy to tell the time given that the hands are black-on-black (with the exception of the second hand which is gold). I think the watch looks more expensive that it is. I have two Marc Jacobs watches and I love this one far more. I think this version is probably a good take on The Ceramic Time Teller, which sells for $450.00 on shopbop at this time. I love the 100 meter acetate case with hardened mineral crystal and the acetate links with stainless steel deployment buckle.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Jennifer Aniston Owns Bronze Leather One
Jennifer Aniston has worn this exact necklace - but her's is the bronze leather pouch version. Given my own style preferences, I consider her a women of great taste. Hence, I knew I would love this necklace. At $18.59 Canadian (70% off), I think I got quite a deal. Thank you shopbop.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 27, 2011
Looks Cheaper Than Pictured
I 100% support the opinion of the previous reviewer who thought this bag "looked cheaped" & returned it. (1) Compared to the peddled leather in my Marc By Marc Jacobs (MBMJ) bags, for example, this is a much cheaper looking (processed) leather. But then again MBMJ bags are 3 to 5 times the price. (2) The push-lock at the front flap may also contribute to the cheap feel. (3) This bag has no frills, including no cloth lining. (4) I even found the interior patch pocket cheap, as it was basically folded over when I put my hand inside the pocket. (4) It is a leather that will scratch. Even when I took it out of the box shopbop sent it in, it had a little scratch already. Originally I thought I would still keep it given the classic colour and style. But I am thinking about returning it as it is very cheap looking and feels cheap too. If it was not Madewell, I would not think twice about returning it. The colour, simple style, long strap, and brand name is what I like about it.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted August 26, 2011
Fell Off Wrist Within 10 Minutes Of Wear
I returned it. It is smaller than expected in terms of the overall style. The decisive point for why I returned it: It fell off - came unclasped - almost immediately. I tried it on, wore it for about 10 minutes, and then it fell off. I had not left my house, so luckily I did not lose it outside. The loop for closing the bracelet seems too large for the little bell; and hence, it falls off easily. At 70% off, I think it is a great deal if you can ensure you won't lose it. Maybe still too expensive for what you get at 50% off ("maybe"). As a final note, I think the gold on the turquoise version is a little cheap-looking, while the "smaller-than-expected" size adds to the inexpensive feel.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
I own red,green,tan,&black: BUY,BUY!!!!!
If you are a Marc Jacobs fan and no matter your age, & especially if you are a student or teacher, in my humble opinion you cannot go wrong with this purchase, especially at approximately $90. Wow!!! I love this style so much, I bought the green and tan for my daughter (on sale) & the red and black for myself (on sale). In a review for the others, I mentioned a "drawback" ... "even with lots of books, papers, etc. inside the bag, the bottom is not heavy enough to stay flat". This turned out to be an non-issue. The flaw lay with me. It was the way I had positioned the books and papers. Lay your books flat inside and it looks just like the image. The black is very pretty as it is classier than the other colours. Moreover, from my perspective the logo is still very visible despite the dark colour. The black bag is my favorite of the four colours. I think a person would be lucky to get this bag for $90. I paid $124.60 for it on sale and it is originally $178.00.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted August 09, 2011
Will Most Likely Soften With Wear/Luv It
I own an identical Tolani scarf to the Tilo Animal Print Scarf; hence, I was pretty sure I would like (or 'get use to') the material in the Tilo Zebra Print Scarf, which one of the previous reviewers mentioned was "harsh". My Tolani Animal Print Scarf, which is also 100% linen, has softened up with wear. And, when new, it was much harsher on my skin than my Tilo Zebra Print Scarf (brand new) appears to be. When I tried my Tilo Zebra Print Scarf on, I couldn't see the Zebra pattern as much as I would like; however, I'm certain this can be easily fixed with some re-arranging. These linen scarves are great all-year-round. If you already own the Tilo Animal Print Scarf (TILOO40004), also now on sale, the Zebra scarf may be too much like it for most tastes. At CA$85.15 (50% off), the price I paid (+ customs), this is a steal IMHO.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted August 09, 2011
3.5' wide by 6' long doesn't work for me
POSITIVE:The geometric prints are gorgeous & one can easily tell the designers drew inspiration from their travels to the Mediterranean. NEGATIVES: (1) The tie-dye -- bon vivant mentality of the late '60s and early '70s -- is not favoured by me. Less tie-dye and it may have worked. (2) At 3.5' wide by 6' long the scarf measures too wide for the way I would like to wear it -- like the model in the accompanying image. When I wear it like the model, the material overwhelms me, even though I am 5'9" and about a size 16 (US) on top and a size 12 (US) on the bottom. My immediate solution was to think of it as a shawl; however, the dye tie doesn't appeal to me when worn that way. Too much tie die on a small space. I may return it.I've been in-love with this scarf since it 1st appeared,but it's one of those products that disappoints upon sight.I paid CA$126.44(30% off), plus customs. Recommend for those who do not mind the negatives listed here at 50/70% off.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content