Juliet Dallaire
Montreal, Canada
My Style: Casual Chic, Classic, Minimalism-Love Carolyn Bessette Kennedy
Reviews: 209
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
209 reviews 1 ... 11 12 13 ... 21
Posted November 23, 2011
Buy, buy, buy! Worth the money! :0)
This item went on sale back in June 2011. I bought my copy long before that and paid full price, and yet I do not mind. It is exquisite & very special. The whistle works!!! There is a smell on it because it is brass and brass can turn (use lemon if you want to shine it up). However, I have had no problems with my copy. It looks exactly as it did when I bought it. I am delighted to see it back. Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous!!! Gorgeous
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 21, 2011
Lint On It Easily;Lint Brush Needed
I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE this bag. It will likely sell out fast; it did last time. It is so cute. Look at the measurements carefully because it is a small tote. I was pleasantly surprised at just how small. Nonetheless, it can hold a lot. The only problem with the bag and why I give it 4 stars as opposed to 5 stars is that lint, car hair, and other such things stick to it and show up on it very very easily. I cannot stress this enough. I carry a lint brush and anti-static spray in my bag. Finally, my bag did not arrive in the customary box that is suppose to come with all products purchased from the Boutique. This is the 2nd time this happened. This bag arrived in a large (easily damaged paper material) pinstripe Anya Hindmarch envelope.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 17, 2011
I kept it,but it's looks cheap in person
I 100% support the opinion of the previous reviewers who generally thought this bag "looked cheaped" (& returned it). (1) Compared to the peddled leather in my Marc By Marc Jacobs (MBMJ) bags, for example, this is a much cheaper looking (processed) leather. But then again MBMJ bags are 3 to 5 times the price. (2) The push-lock at the front flap may also contribute to the cheap feel. (3) This bag has no frills, including no cloth lining. (4) I even found the interior patch pocket cheap, as it was basically folded over when I put my hand inside the pocket. (4) It is a leather that will scratch. Even when I took it out of the box shopbop sent it in, it had a little scratch already. I thought about returning it as it is very cheap looking and feels cheap too; however, I kept it since it is a nice colour, is a simple style, has a long strap, and is by Madewell.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 11, 2011
Nice, but not extraordinary
Since I wear a lot of Black, I usually like my scarves to be more colourful. I, therefore, would not have purchased this dark scarf had it not been on sale elsewhere. As I say in the title of this review, the wool is gentle to the skin. In addition, the fringe detail throughout is lovely and of course, the MBMJ stamp is the icing on the cake. Don't forget, it's dry clean only. As a final note, given that the scarf is from MBMJ, it may, surprisingly & arguably, seem more suited to "older" women (given the combination of material and colours). I think my grandmother for example would look great in this scarf (but then again, perhaps, someone 40 or 20 would too). I hope so, as I am 40.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 28, 2011
Loved Royal Blue So Much, Bought Tan Too
To effectively illustrate my faith in this brand of scarves, I should start by saying I have no less than 9 YARNZ scarves. Since this scarf is 100% cashmere it is stiffer than the YARNZ scarves that are 50% cashmere/50% silk. Now, if only YARNZ would make two separate scarves - a Royal Blue Leopard one and a Red Plaid one - I'd buy both. A final comment for this rave review: I bought the tan version (which is now sold out) the same day I received my Royal Blue one.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 27, 2011
Royal Blue Is Gorgeous
To fully illustrate my opinion regarding the quality of YARNZ scarves, I should begin by saying I own at least 9. This one is my favourite or tied with the YARNZ book scarf for 1st place. I first saw the Royal Blue Leopard Plaid Scarf in "InStyle" magazine and immediately loved the Blue Red combination. The brightness of the combo does not disappoint upon seeing it in-person. I like it so much I am considering purchasing the Tan version, which sells out especially fast. The cashmere gauze, colours, and fringed edges rock!!! Sometimes the patterns on YARNZ scarves are "far out" (I own Audrey Hepburn, Coco Chanel, the Book Scarf, for example). However, I think this one, despite the seemingly strange combo of leopard and plaid, will stand 'the test of time' too. Now: If only YARNZ would make an all Royal Blue Leopard one and an all Red Plaid one, I'd be extra happy. As a final note, the service of shopbop.com is beyond the call of duty per usual. Thank you shopbop.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Wish it was gold-vermeil, but luv length
To be honest, I would have preferred the Jennifer Zeuner gold-vermeil boy & girl kissing necklace, which was available on shopbop for about $200 USD. Why? The Monserat De Lucca version is brass. Brass will naturally oxidize over time. The Jennifer Zeuner version is gold-vermeil. Alas, for me, the boy & girl kissing necklace by Jennifer Zeuner was only 15.5"-16.5" (39.5-32 cm) long. Much much too short for my neck (I am about a size 16 US on top). It would fit like a choker on me. I was so disappointed. The length on Monserat De Lucca version is 22.5" (57 cm) long, which is perfect for me. As for the brass; If you prefer a shiner look when this happens, a brass cleaner, brass polishing cloth, or lemon juice will restore the bracelet's luster.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 21, 2011
Rave Review Of The Galvanized Version
I bought the Galvanized (Black) version and thus anyone reading this review may want to take that into account. This is a rave review!!! 1) I usually don't like silk scarves.I hate how they feel against my neck when I sweat.Yuck!But the 76% cotton/24% silk combination seems to work nicely. 2) The 3' wide by 3' long seems "larger than expected" to me since I LOVEEEEEEEE how long it falls in the front when tied in a triangle. 3) The colour combination in the black version (black/darkgrey/yellow & the seagull colours) are gorgeous. 4) I cannot believe the deal I got on this.At 50% off on top of the 20% for Friends&Family 2-Day Deal, I hit the jackpot. 5) The only negative from my point of view is the smell of oil on the scarf.This is typical for Madewell scarves.A bit of perfume or something like that would take it out (and it eventually wears away). 6) I like the Galvanized version so much that I am thinking about also buying the blue. Final Verdict: Made very well. I love it!!!
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Rarely Does Juliet&Co. Fail Me: A+++++++
Like 2 of the 3 previous reviewers this is a rave review.I have several pairs of the Juliet & Co. pearl earrings & in my humble opinion, the necklace is en par with the earrings.I almost didn't order the necklace however, since 1 of the reviewers was "a bit disappointed with this necklace" because, for her, "it looks so fake."I respect that opinion since I've never owned real pearls.Thus, I suspect this necklace doesn't look fake to me for that reason.The same reviewer likes the pearl earrings made by the same company and comments that "they look so much better."If I was a potential buyer, I would think about this less positive review a lot.For example, if you are use to higher quality pearls, you too, might be disappointed.Finally, as the reviewer said, "unless you want pearls with a very creamy darkish colour" don't order these.For me, the darkish colour is lovely, but if you are expecting white pearls you will be disappointed.The pink box & black velvet bag it arrived in is lovely.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Worried Gold Beads Will Fall Off,But Luv
Directly after ordering the Vanessa Mooney (VM) Tucson Turquoise Tooth Necklace, I took my VM Buddha Square Amulet Necklace (VMOON4002711739314) out and put it on. I noticed that a visible number of gold beads had fallen off the white rope chain on the Buddha Square Amulet Necklace. I immediately regretted ordering the Tucson Turquoise Tooth version since it, too, has gold beads on a white rope chain. However, my fears went away, for the most part, upon seeing it because the gold beads on this necklace are larger & look more sturdy. But only time will tell for sure. One part of the design shouts "cheap, cheap" however. The brass object that attaches the Turquoise Tooth to the chain looks like someone made it in high school workshop class. I do like it a lot though. I am a huge fan of turquoise and the Tucson Turquoise Tooth Necklace, overall, is gorgeous. If you can get it on sale, even better. I got it with the 20% off for friends & family sale.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content