Dogma
New Orleans
My Style: Bohemian, Casual Chic, Classic
Reviews: 110
Average Rating: 4.5
REVIEWS & RATINGS
110 reviews 1 ... 8 9 10 11
Posted November 29, 2012
So sexy! Love it!
I started eyeing this dress after I lost out on both the Susana Monaco turtleneck dress and a similar Theory one because my size was sold out. I didn't spring for this one right away because the description said it was of a glossy fabric, which I'm not a fan of. When I first took it out of the bag my first thought was Oh no... Well, I tried it on and LOVED it!! The slip has a slightly shaping effect to it...not suck-you-in kind of shaping, but it does hold everything together and smooths every lump and bump. Once I put the dress on, I thought WOW! It is I-think-I'm-gonna-have-a-martini, shaken-not-stirred kinda sexy! Even the sheer outer shell has a very subtle stretch, but by no means should you pull on it. It is very delicate, but so what, if you're going to wear a sheer dress, you should expect it to be delicate. The seams on the dress add a lot of character to it. I'm 5'4" and it is the same length on me as the model, but I have a short torso & long legs. True to size.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 29, 2012
Simply pretty!
Always a fan of the maxi, I'm so glad I finally bought this dress! I have plenty of maxi dresses, but this one might be the simplest of them all and I like that. The color is just as seen, but my skin is a little darker and almost a similar tone as the dress; this makes the dress extremely understated like it's not trying too hard to be noticed while being absolutely beautiful. The material is also a bit thicker and more substantial than I thought, making this a truly piece with an even greater price. I've been buying a few Lanston items, and they are extremely classic and basic without looking cheap. The best part is I can hand wash instead of dry clean. I'm 5'4", 130 lbs, 35" bust and the small fits very well. I'm also somewhat pear-shaped but you wouldn't be able to tell in this dress. It is a little long so I'll take it up about 3 inches. I have a short torso and longer legs than most people my height, but this is doable. Hope this helps!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 17, 2012
Great basic that's not so basic!
I love basic pieces that somehow just feel better constructed and look the part too. This is such a nice turtleneck in a soft fabric that doesn't look like I bought it at some discount closeout store, which is a problem a lot of basics seem to have. The fit is perfect and length is great too! I may get another one as a backup!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 17, 2012
Beautiful blouse!
The fit of this blouse is perfection! I've read so many great reviews about Rory Beca blouses, and I have to say I am now a fan after buying my first one! It has a drapey effect and the fabric has just enough weight to pull it off without being too thick to drag it down. I got mine in Navy and I just love the color...a real classic. I love the relaxed look without the bum appeal. Highly recommended!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 07, 2012
New skinnies fan!
I never thought I'd be wearing skinnies, but J Brand proved me wrong! My first pair was a mid-rise pair in Nightfall, and since then I've been trying to scoop them up in every color. I'm a true size 28, but 28 in this material didn't cut it for me. These aren't actually jeans, but more of a soft, stretchy twill. Sizing up to 29 was perfect! I found the extra size gave me about 1/2" to squeeze in. (J Brand also has a somewhat thicker material more like denim in other skinnies and I take 28 in those). By end of day, they're pretty stretched out, but after a wash/dry they snap right back. I first got them so I'd have pants to stick I side my boots, but one morning when I couldn't get my foot into one of my boots, I just wore heels instead and these looked great with them. They also make your butt look awesome and hug your curves in a really flattering way! Highly recommended!
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 07, 2012
Pretty but not for me
I really loved this shirt on the model, and if your body is narrow like hers this blouse would probably look great on you. I have wider hips (size 28 jeans; size 6 in contemporary designers; small & medium) and a shorter torso compared to my legs, and this shirt looked frumpy on me. The belt is not attached to the blouse so I thought I could place it where I needed it to be so I wouldn't look so wide, but it just didn't work out that way. When I got rid of the belt altogether, the blouse was way too big and shapeless. The material is beautiful and the details are great, but I had to take away stars for fit. It's still a beautiful blouse even if it didn't work for me.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 06, 2012
Great tee!
I love that this shirt isn't one of those beat up, ol' concert tee's. The different album covers are cool, too. I got the medium for a relaxed fit, and I do find it's cut in a slightly boxy shape, which is a welcome break from the fitted ladies concert shirts.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 11, 2012
Beautiful shoes!
I got these today--LOVE them! They fit true to size and somehow slenders the feet despite being wedges. The height is also perfect and makes it incredibly comfortable. I can't wait to wear these tomorrow to work. By the way, these are perfect for work or anywhere. The print is also gorgeous! I am a size 7, and 7 was right on. Highly recommended!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 06, 2012
Mixed feelings about this one
I really wanted to love this shirt, but I just like it. The color is beautiful, and I really like the crinkly gauze material; the "frayed" hem is great it you'll be wearing it untucked. I took a medium so I could get the slightly baggy look like the way it fits on the model. I could've easily gotten that look with a small, I realized, when it still was big after washing and drying. It did shrink a good bit, though, so the frumpy look improved. The pockets are far enough down that it kind of makes me look like I have saggy boobs! I'm constantly pulling the shirt back so it doesn't look like that, lol! Overall I'm not entirely disappointed; it is a good price on sale at half off. On a scale of 1-10, I'd say a 7 so it was a decent buy.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
So pretty!
Deepa Gurnani has made a headband addict out of me, and this piece is just as lovely as the others! My other ones are in various shades of black, gold, gray, etc., and the cobalt blue gave me a much needed change. The blue is vibrant and the sparkle is just enough to catch the light in a flattering way--not too subdued, not at all tacky. The headband is snug and stayed put. Thanks for the fantastic hair jewelry!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content