Dogma
New Orleans
My Style: Bohemian, Casual Chic, Classic
Reviews: 115
Average Rating: 4.5
REVIEWS & RATINGS
115 reviews 1 ... 8 9 10 ... 12
Posted March 06, 2013
Great basic!
Every piece I've gotten from Lanston has been superb, and this dress is no different! The material isn't like T-shirt material, but it's actually rather substantial without being thick. I'm a size 28 and got this in medium. I usually wear small or medium, but wanted a relaxed look so I got the medium. The dress doesn't have a pattern, but it's also not just a solid color. It's actually very pretty, and if you zoom up close you'll see what I'm talking about. This makes it not too basic and I really love that it's not boring. This is perfect for everyday wear, and I'm sure I'll be wearing it a lot once it gets a little warmer.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 11, 2013
Adorable flats!
These far exceeded my expectations! I got these for my mom as she was looking for ballet flats that were great quality without breaking the bank, and so I'm glad I found these on sale. The ostrich texture is very interesting and makes for a more exciting pair of flats. The sole is much thicker than ones I've seen on other flats. I should've gotten myself a pair also, but sadly the size and color I want are sold out. Overall a very high quality pair of shoes!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 29, 2012
So sexy! Love it!
I started eyeing this dress after I lost out on both the Susana Monaco turtleneck dress and a similar Theory one because my size was sold out. I didn't spring for this one right away because the description said it was of a glossy fabric, which I'm not a fan of. When I first took it out of the bag my first thought was Oh no... Well, I tried it on and LOVED it!! The slip has a slightly shaping effect to it...not suck-you-in kind of shaping, but it does hold everything together and smooths every lump and bump. Once I put the dress on, I thought WOW! It is I-think-I'm-gonna-have-a-martini, shaken-not-stirred kinda sexy! Even the sheer outer shell has a very subtle stretch, but by no means should you pull on it. It is very delicate, but so what, if you're going to wear a sheer dress, you should expect it to be delicate. The seams on the dress add a lot of character to it. I'm 5'4" and it is the same length on me as the model, but I have a short torso & long legs. True to size.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 29, 2012
Simply pretty!
Always a fan of the maxi, I'm so glad I finally bought this dress! I have plenty of maxi dresses, but this one might be the simplest of them all and I like that. The color is just as seen, but my skin is a little darker and almost a similar tone as the dress; this makes the dress extremely understated like it's not trying too hard to be noticed while being absolutely beautiful. The material is also a bit thicker and more substantial than I thought, making this a truly piece with an even greater price. I've been buying a few Lanston items, and they are extremely classic and basic without looking cheap. The best part is I can hand wash instead of dry clean. I'm 5'4", 130 lbs, 35" bust and the small fits very well. I'm also somewhat pear-shaped but you wouldn't be able to tell in this dress. It is a little long so I'll take it up about 3 inches. I have a short torso and longer legs than most people my height, but this is doable. Hope this helps!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 17, 2012
Great basic that's not so basic!
I love basic pieces that somehow just feel better constructed and look the part too. This is such a nice turtleneck in a soft fabric that doesn't look like I bought it at some discount closeout store, which is a problem a lot of basics seem to have. The fit is perfect and length is great too! I may get another one as a backup!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 17, 2012
Beautiful blouse!
The fit of this blouse is perfection! I've read so many great reviews about Rory Beca blouses, and I have to say I am now a fan after buying my first one! It has a drapey effect and the fabric has just enough weight to pull it off without being too thick to drag it down. I got mine in Navy and I just love the color...a real classic. I love the relaxed look without the bum appeal. Highly recommended!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 07, 2012
New skinnies fan!
I never thought I'd be wearing skinnies, but J Brand proved me wrong! My first pair was a mid-rise pair in Nightfall, and since then I've been trying to scoop them up in every color. I'm a true size 28, but 28 in this material didn't cut it for me. These aren't actually jeans, but more of a soft, stretchy twill. Sizing up to 29 was perfect! I found the extra size gave me about 1/2" to squeeze in. (J Brand also has a somewhat thicker material more like denim in other skinnies and I take 28 in those). By end of day, they're pretty stretched out, but after a wash/dry they snap right back. I first got them so I'd have pants to stick I side my boots, but one morning when I couldn't get my foot into one of my boots, I just wore heels instead and these looked great with them. They also make your butt look awesome and hug your curves in a really flattering way! Highly recommended!
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 07, 2012
Pretty but not for me
I really loved this shirt on the model, and if your body is narrow like hers this blouse would probably look great on you. I have wider hips (size 28 jeans; size 6 in contemporary designers; small & medium) and a shorter torso compared to my legs, and this shirt looked frumpy on me. The belt is not attached to the blouse so I thought I could place it where I needed it to be so I wouldn't look so wide, but it just didn't work out that way. When I got rid of the belt altogether, the blouse was way too big and shapeless. The material is beautiful and the details are great, but I had to take away stars for fit. It's still a beautiful blouse even if it didn't work for me.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted November 06, 2012
Great tee!
I love that this shirt isn't one of those beat up, ol' concert tee's. The different album covers are cool, too. I got the medium for a relaxed fit, and I do find it's cut in a slightly boxy shape, which is a welcome break from the fitted ladies concert shirts.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 11, 2012
Beautiful shoes!
I got these today--LOVE them! They fit true to size and somehow slenders the feet despite being wedges. The height is also perfect and makes it incredibly comfortable. I can't wait to wear these tomorrow to work. By the way, these are perfect for work or anywhere. The print is also gorgeous! I am a size 7, and 7 was right on. Highly recommended!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content