shopahoplic
NYC
My Style: Bohemian, Classic
Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
33 reviews 1 2 3 4
Posted January 16, 2012
Cannot live without...
I have O.H. second skins in almost every permutation. It is the perfect material, weight, and fit under clothing r to sleep in. So comfortable, so perfectly fitting to the body without being Spanx. They wash and wear beautifully. My first pieces were camisoles that I bought almost ten years ago and they still look great. The nude gets extra points from me for matching my skin so well. This slip is indispensable bc it is short enough to go under anything without fussing about peekaboo problems. I also sleep in mine bc it is so comfy and breathable. Wicks away moisture in the winter months when you wear them as underpinnings. These are a staple in my closet. Nothing else comes close when you need the "perfect" slip.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted January 11, 2012
Nice fit and fabric
I really like this dress and think I will get lots of use out if it in several seasons. Not at all sheer and not too heavy. The fabric is smoothing and doesn't cling. Outlines the shape nicely. Was too long on me, but I am 5'2" so that's no surprise. I am wearing it tonight with high boots and a belt. Got it in three colors. Took off one star bc it's not spectacular. But well made and versatile.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 30, 2011
Looks like pyjamas
I love Splendid's waffle material -- I think it's their best yet -- and have five tops in this knit. I was excited to get this dress thinking I could wear it with everything from winter boots to flip flops in the summer. Sadly, the dress lacked shape and looked a little dumpy on me. Even with a belt and a short jacket, I didn't think it worked. I could have kept it as a sleep shirt since the fabric is so sumptuous, but the cost wasn't worth it for me. Also, the Swan color was a bit too pink and "off" compared to the nice Swan color tops I already have.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 29, 2011
Wonderful Top
This top is made of a drapey, light knit that falls beautifully on the body. The neckline is sexy without being too revealing. I hope I can get away with wearing this without an undergarment, as it looks on the model. It isn't see thru, it's just that you can see contours, if you know what I mean. Very flattering color on bare skin. Will definitely purchase from this brand again.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 29, 2011
Too low waisted but nice fabric
Leggings are a staple for me, and I bought these bc I like nylon leggings. In contrast to typical stretch cotton leggings, they tend to keep their shape and fade less. The material of these leggings do not disappoint -- they are thick, never sheer, not shiny as they appear in the picture, and wash wonderfully. However, I find this brand makes their bottoms crazy low waisted. I am only 5'2" and I found these too low for me. I would recommend this brand's "high waisted" leggings. The stretch cotton is superb and they fit normally on the waist (not high).
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 28, 2011
Not as nice as the cotton version
I adore the cotton version -- in fact, it's my favorite top and I have four of them and counting. I am always a small in the cotton, but this top felt clinging and unflattering in this knit. Not flattering to the tummy area or arms. I didn't mind the contrast btn, the sleeves and the body, the fit was just off. Also, not as comfy and delicious as the stretch cotton version. That's my preference, anyhow.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 22, 2011
Feel great, but are not leggings
I'm going to call these long undwear bc they certainly cannot be worn on their own. They are sheer and have really unflattering multiple seams along the rear end, which make it look like an undergarment. You absolutely cannot wear these as leggings. That having been said, they feel really nice. The outside is a smooth nylon and the inside is a thin fleece layer. I bought three pairs to wear under pants in the harsh winter weather, so I do like them. But please don't expect these to be leggings! Also, the fit runs large in the wide waist, feels shapeless up top.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 22, 2011
My Dressy Leggings (and note on waist)
Leggings are a major staple in my wardrobe, and I am constantly looking for the perfect pair. I am so glad I took a chance on these bc they are my current favorite. The material in thick (never sheer) so it sucks you in, the finish is elegant (velvety, not shiny). I perviously tried the "sport" version of these leggings bc they are made of nylon, but these leggings are better. Despite the fact they are made of cotton, there is absolutely no fade after multiple washes and no sagging, which are both problems with other cotton leggings I've tried. Also, although these say "high waisted," they are not. If you know So Low, you know their regular waist is extremely low riding. These are higher, but I'd say they are a normal wisest or slightly lower than a normal waist. I like my leggings to pull up over my love handles, but these don't do that well. Also, they run small int eh waist. I'd order one size up.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 21, 2011
Delicious Material
This is the BEST material Splendid uses! And if you love Splendid's scrumptious casual clothes, you know that says a lot. The knit is substantial yet doesn't feel heavy. There is a good amount of stretch so it feels great. The waffle texture adds some dimension without being a pattern, so the tops are really versatile with everything from jeans to leggings to corduroys. Great length to wear with leggings, as they are elongated through the body. I have 3 of these in the cowl neck (grey, black, and the wonderful creamy Swan color) and one in the sweatshirts style (Swan). I have lived in them on weekends during the fall and so far this winter. They wash and wear beautifully. I rely on them 2-3 times a week. I am considering getting the dress version to sleep in!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 21, 2011
My Favorite Shirt
Velvet appears to coming out with a version of this top every season -- and THANKS! I was hooked after I bought my first one and have been collecting them since. I have four now that I wear constantly. The material is thin enough to feel light and comfortable, yet the stench cotton is substantial enough to wear without a peekaboo problem. The wrap design is so flattering -- the neck is sort of adjustable to show the skin you want, and the sleeves are a great length that reaches just to the thumb joint. The greatest thing about this top is that it is so versatile. I wear them over racerback tops to yoga, with leggings to go out at night, and sometimes to work tucked into a skirt. I love the slightly rolled edges, the baby-soft feel... A great dressed-up version of a t-shirt material top. I cannot say enough about these!
 
report inappropriate content