Juliet Dallaire
Montreal, Canada
My Style: Casual Chic, Classic, Minimalism-Love Carolyn Bessette Kennedy
Reviews: 204
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
204 reviews 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 21
Posted January 19, 2011
Pretty&Petitie (Keepsake To Pass On)
A very pretty necklace. Because it is a gold-filled chain necklace it does not turn one's neck green or blue like many of my beloved purchases on shopbop (e.g., the Alkemie Jewelry I loveeeeeeeeee so much). With a chain drop of 25" long and a pendant at 3.25" long, I imagine it is a good length for plus size gals like me with wider necks and more petite women too. It is very classy. I like this necklace very much, but I don't love it like I love my Alkemie Jewelry Whistle Necklace (at CA$ 168.86), which I bought around the same time. At a sale price of CA$ 141.85 I recommend it, but without eagerness. Currently there is only one left in stock; except for that fact I would advise waiting until it is 70% off.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Have The GOLD Too, But Like SILVER More
I bought the GOLD Gardez Two Finger Ring at a sale price of $99.00 on 2010-12-11 (although during Christmas it went down to less than $50). I liked the GOLD version so much I didn't want to take the chance that the SILVER would sell out prior to going on sale even more. I got it for $84 with the 20MORE end of year sale. I bought the SILVER version on 2010-12-30, which demonstrates how much I like this style of ring as it didn't take me long to get it after buying the GOLD version. I think it's even more beautiful than the GOLD. It's fully adjustable for 8+ring fingers like mine; however, be careful adjusting it because it might break. I plan to wear my new SILVER Gardez Two Finger Ring tomorrow (it arrived today). It is heavy & as I type I will have to remove it, but it's gorgeous and I luv it. Since the GOLD version went down quite a bit from the original price, I suspect--in the end--shopbop consumers will be able to purchase the silver for at least 70% off.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Would Return It, But Paid 70% Off
Regarding another version of the Twelfth St. by Cynthia Vincent bag, the Metallic Grocery Bag, a reviewer wrote: "Not good at all. Grocery Bag is definitely the definition of this bag.... Returned it quickly." What saves this version from that type of review from me is the fact this bag is leather; the other is gold. Nonetheless, I certainly do not love the Embossed Croc Grocery Bag. I wish I could return it for a full refund, even though I paid the amazing sale price of $112.50 for it (plus another $25 for customs fees to Canada). If I had not gotten this bag for 70% off the original price, I would definitely return it. (A drawback of the 70% off). Based on the Embossed Croc Grocery Bag, I won't buy another grocery bag by Cynthia Vincent. I see, however, that the previous reviews are very positive and as always, this is all about personal taste. As a final note, there is a small tear in my bag after one use when I accidentally rubbed against a door. I do NOT recommend it.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 24, 2010
Even nicer than larger version
At 5/16" (3/4 cm) wide, approximately half the size as the larger version and more than twice as pretty. And btw I am a huge fan of the bigger version two, owning two white sets and one grey set. At $20 this is a steal IMHO.
 
report inappropriate content
Returned Parisian Blue Version
My Nylon Tate Tote--in Parisian Blue--arrived approximately 10:00 AM today via UPS.By 10:30 AM it was back in the original packing box & returned to shop.bop.I was hesitant to buy it as I was unsure if it was my style.I have one of the Nylon Pouches and like it very much; however, nylon is probably not the best for me.In retrospect, I'd rather save up for the more expensive Saddlery Lou Lou Satchel or something similar to it.I own the New Army Tote, Saddlery Sophie Tote, & the Logo Travel Mirror Vanity Case--and love them all.Nonetheless, I do not fancy the Tate Tote.Regarding the Reed Tan version, a reviewer wrote: "I am obsessed with this bag!Bought in on an impulse shopping spree but already have used it for travel, school, workout.It's a great size, plus adds style and class to the simplest of outfits!" Thus, in my final judgment, I think the colour is probably the deal breaker, and if you travel or workout a lot this is a great bag. Further, I think it can add style & class.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 23, 2010
3/4 cm wide is far nicer than 1 cm wide
IMHO & for my particular tastes, the petite Ivory/Gold pearl studs--at 5/16" (3/4 cm) wide--are even more beautiful than the larger 3/8" (1 cm) wide version, of which I own two White pairs and one Tahitian Grey pair. In previous reviews, several customers mentioned the 3/8" (1 cm) earrings were "too large." Even though I like both sizes, the smaller version is by far my favourite. In fact, the next order I make via shopbop.com will include a second pair of the PETITE pearl studs. IMHO they look more expensive than $20. I suspect these will sell out rather quickly. On a final note, I have ranked the PETITE pearl studs as "Smaller than Expected." However, this is meant as a compliment and partly due to the fact that I am terrible at comparing 3/4 cm to 1 cm in my mind's eye. I need to see it. And what I see is FABulous!!! Thank you shopbop for carrying Juliet & Company. Thank you for the fast, friendly, & FREE S&H to Canada. You rock!!!
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted December 22, 2010
Big&Beautful (May Be Too Heavy For Some)
This gorgeous bag is more brownest than the typical greenish khaki that comes to mind when I read the description as "khaki." However, I must admit that upon even a fleeting examination of the images, I should have not been surprised as the brownest colour you see is what you will get. I LOVE IT!!! Big & Beautiful!!! I thought the length was larger than the picture, but it is 18"L. This bag is going to be great for school. It holds quite a lot (as another said, "wallet, books, laptop, sweater, and still have room for lunch"). I have been using it non-stop since I bought it on 2010-12-11. Very sturdy canvas that you won't have to worry about 'beating around' too much. One might argue that the zip gusset and metal grommets at sides and bottom makes it a little heavy (when filled). Thank you ShopBop!!! Marc Jacobs Rocks!!! :0) :0) :0)
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Kindness Is Always Fashionable
This is an appropriately simple tote with a very powerful statement (i.e., "Kindness Is Always Fashionable").Not only is it a lovely tote & a keepsake (e.g., Each $20 tote features the signatures of 83 of Roy's friends. Oprah Winfrey & Jay-Z are amongst them), but most important of all.... In July 2010 heavy monsoon rains left one fifth of Pakistan's land area underwater. Six months later there is still an urgent need for food, clean water, and safe shelter. For each tote sold, Rachel Roy will donate $20 to the US Fund for UNICEF's disaster relief and recovery efforts for the victims of the Pakistan floods.A totally fashionable purchase for a mere $20.Plus, the tote can go with almost any outfit & send a mighty message to folks who get a glance at the lettering.In closing, I should mention that I bought only one of the totes but dearly wish I had bought more to give to friends as holiday and post-holiday gifts. Bravo Rachel Roy!!! Bravo shopbop.com for carrying such a product!!!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Recommend at $79.20 sale price/BIGBIGBIG
Wearing it this very minute.Typing just fine.Imagine shortly I'll have to remove it.OK,hand very tired from weight of ring.It's coming off.Ordered ring at the sale price of $99.00 on 2010-12-11;however,had I waited @ 3 days I would've bought it for $79.20 given the EXTRA20 holiday cheer special.EXTRA20 actually started before ring reached me via UPS.Pay customs for every $ spent at shopbop;hence,the savings equals more than the price tag for me.Shopbop is TERRIFIC but really needs standard price adjustments even for events like EXTRA20 IMHO & not just as a courtesy price adjustment on items marked down within 7 days of purchase.The 7-day policy is appreciated however.Alas,I just learned about it.As for said ring,it has A Peace Treaty tag attached that comes off;but I wish A Peace Treaty was stamped onto back of ring (there' s room, lol).Fully adjustable for 8+ring fingers like me,but careful adjusting it as it might break.Right now,like it enough to consider silver.Covers @ 1/2 of hand
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Seems Plastic, Not Wood As Advertised
I own scores of Alkemie pieces (e.g., Owl Necklace, Buddha Lock Bracelet, Buckle Cuff, Buddha Earrings, Buddha Rosary, Peace Gun Necklace, & More).I adore this company.I wanted to love the Rosary Necklaces.In fact, I ordered 3 different versions of the Rosary Necklace (Owl & Hasma Hand too) at 3 different times.Why try 3 times?I was hoping that each prior order was a poorly manufactured fluke.Alas,I returned all 3.I even asked a shopbop rep, the 2nd time I ordered, if the beads were wood.She replied in the affirmative.I think she simply read the description.This product seems cheap IMHO because the beads appear to be made from cheap plastic, even though the description states "wood-beaded chain necklace." The sliver links between the beads add to the cheap aura IMHO.I am so sorry to post this particular review as I love this company; however, perhaps my experience might help someone.The designers are gifted artists & environmentally conscious.I will continue to buy from Alkemie.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content