en
US
USD
Dr.LTC
Newport Beach, California
My Style: Classic, Girly, Cali Chic Mixed w/Alluring Uptown Style
Reviews: 190
Average Rating: 4.5
REVIEWS & RATINGS
190 reviews 1 ... 15 16 17 ... 19
Posted October 14, 2011
Ideal for a Thin, High Confidence Day
I love the color of this dress and it is so beautiful against pale skin. I've only been able to wear it once because not only is it super short, it's also very fitted and very unforgiving. It's ideal when you're having a super thin day and are working some major confidence. This is a good investment piece as it will wear really well across multiple seasons and years. So feminine and pretty.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 14, 2011
Uptown, Downtown, All-Around
I love to take a luxe look like this skirt offers and dress it down with a layered tank, striped cotton sweater, and flats; giving it a downtown look maximizes its wearability. I swapped my day wear for a Vince silk tank and heels and it immediately gave it a more uptown feel. The sequins wear surprisingly well, too. I loved the look of this skirt, but what convinced me to buy it was reading another customer's positive review. She was right! It's a great piece.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 14, 2011
Velvet? Could Have Fooled Me!
These fit well -- they have a perfect amount of stretch -- and hug your curves. They look great with boots or heels, but they also look like dark wash denim. Unless you touch them, it's really hard to tell that they're velvet. They're missing that luxe feel and look that velvet usually offers. They're still a great pair of Fall/Winter pants.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 16, 2011
The PERFECT Mini-Dress
Simply, this dress could not fit better. It's bodycon, but the gathered, ruched, and banded material on the front makes this dress unbelievably flattering. The color looks great against my pale skin; how rare is that for red? LOVE!
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Great Fit, but Overly Thick
I really like the fit of Current/Elliot bottoms and I found that same great fit in their cords. I wasn't expecting the material to be as thick as it actually is and in my opinion, the heaviness of the material gives the pants a clunkier look when you've got them on than it looks in the photo. In fact, it looks like two different pairs of pants. I ordered them in burgundy; maybe the gray would have been sleeker? Even though these fit perfectly, they made me feel heavy. I'm going to put them aside for a month or so, wait for it to cool off, and then try them again to see if they feel less "fat" and more "fabulous." I hope so.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 16, 2011
Layer-able
Joie is one of my favorite brands and Soft Joie -- with its much more feasible price-point -- has all of the same great qualities of the brand, but focuses more on sheer, super-soft cotton tops, like this one. I got the navy and gray striped version and I enjoy it on its own or as a layered piece. The fact that their items, especially the blouses and tops, can stand solo or work as a layerable piece is one of the best aspects of this line.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 16, 2011
Falke Knows Legs!
Wolford used to be my "go-to" for tights, socks, stalkings... until I discovered Falke on the Shopbop website. Not only do their knee-highs (really, they're generously over-the-knee) fit like a glove, they also endure beautifully. These are quite spendy, but since they last and stay looking so good, I think they're worth the money. Even though it's just now dropped into the mid-70s in SoCal, I've already worn them once with wide-leg J.Crew boots. They're one of my all-time favorite accessories. I can only vouch for the basic colors like black, cream, gray, and beige; the eye-popping colors aren't my style.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 16, 2011
One of the Most "Mixable" Pieces Ever!
I gave this item the highest rating despite the fact that I would guess it to be about two sizes smaller than the size it's tagged as. This could be because I can't stand anything tight around my stomach so I like the waist of any item to ride low (which I then conceal with a longer top and/or layers). That being said, after a quick visit to the tailor who adjusted the button closure to fit my preference, I've already worn this skirt twice. The "oxblood" color doesn't truly go with anything so instead, it can be mixed with everything. I've worn it with a sequined tank, cardigan, and knee-high boots, as well as Jimmy Choo heels and a button-down Vince silk shirt. Because it can be mixed and matched with anything, it's well worth the money. On top of all of this, the leather quality is superb!
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Peeking Out From Knee-High Boots...
... these add the final touch to most any boots with shorts or miniskirt combo.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 16, 2011
A Good Piece, but Only if Layered
This piece could look too "Country Hayride" -- a look that doesn't work for me -- if worn solo. I added it to a Ralph Lauren camel-colored bodycon dress, a loose, white James Perse tank over that, and topped it with this shirt (which I left unbuttoned and folded to above the elbows), finishing it with a low-waist belt. Very city; not at all country. Beware the shirt wrinkles easily despite it being the thickest chambray I've ever seen. I have jeans from the same material that are twice as lightweight as this shirt.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content