Ruru
NY
My Style: Casual Chic, Edgy, Low-maintenance cool
Reviews: 46
Average Rating: 3.5
REVIEWS & RATINGS
46 reviews 1 2 3 4 5
Posted August 21, 2012
Not to be worn without a 2nd slip
So it is obvious that 1) the dress is see-through and 2) there's an inner slip for mitigating that. But wow - unless worn over a swimsuit near the beach, I cannot see myself going out in this without a self-supplied additional slip. Your undergarments are on display (every seam, ridge and line from your bra and undies), and your legs' outline. Sizing, this is kind of typical of A.L.C. (i.e. fits smaller than other designers in the price range). The rayon fabric doesn't stretch that much and so makes it that much smaller. In particular, it's a pull-over entry, no zipper - which is really kind of wrong for something this restrictive. It's very puzzling that this one, sans zipper, is actually $100 more expensive than another white rayon A.L.C. which does have a zipper (albeit that dress is knee-length and not tea length, but that doesn't add to the cost that much). I like the design, I'm just not sure it was executed as it should've been.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted August 10, 2012
The heel wrap digs
I like the 2-tone contrast of these. I may try sizing down or something just to see if the heel wrap to dig into the back of my ankle, like the wrap was too big/tall for my heel and cutting into where the heels bends and meets the calf. Not comfortable to even stand in for the time I was trying one foot on. I could also do without the shoe lace thing because it struck me as somewhat ruining the sleek/modernness of the design, but that's just me.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Evening beach party, maybe
Obviously, the mesh/netting placement of this dress screams for attention - don't think you'd really want to wear this to anything 'proper' - quiet, fancy dinners probably would be wrong, but some place (warm) where people flaunt lots of skin all year round, OK. Personally, with heels (as the model demonstrates) I can only see myself wearing this to an evening gathering somewhere near the beach. The fabric is very casual/dressed-down, despite the midi length. Because of the fabric, I just can't see this as something much more than a bikini topper. The XS fits more like an S compared to typical TbAW.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted July 19, 2012
See-through
$1,150 designer dress - I didn't expect it to be un-lined and see-through. Fabric is thin; the observer's eyes are drawn to all the darts and seams, when you'd rather have them admiring your overall look. The drape in the front is reminiscent of a sumo wrestler's diaper-y loincloth thing - that portion provides a double layer and thus not see-through, but then highlights the fact that the rest of the body is. This aspect really cheapens what could be a classy vibe. From a design standpoint, I would have liked a square/sharp-looking neckline instead of the scoop (on me, matronly). Also, the short straps that you see zeroed in on in the pictures stick out like a sore thumb. I guess they are meant to hide a bra - with the one I had this didn't work, so it'll take some trial-and-error to find the right bra. The straps are removable - a bit too much at that, and I'd worry about thing unsnapping just randomly while you're naturally moving around.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
The only skinnies for me
Other than my Development (from the Lim days!) skinnies that I bought by accident before Kate Moss first started the trend (5 years ago?), everything I've tried just looks dead ugly on me, regardless of designer or price. Current/Elliott Stiletto is the only style that works for me. Of course, one generally should size down in C/E from other designer brands.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted June 07, 2012
Cute - just boring
I found this tts for me - have worn Velvet in P for years. I'm 35-24-35 and the P is spot on in the chest, but not fitted to the body otherwise. The P looks on me pretty much the way the S looks on the model, relaxed and pajama-y. I just was hoping the red-orange color were more exciting is all...
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 23, 2012
Yikes - tiny
I'm 5'5",35-24-35. This romper rides way up and the front of it cuts very low - in XS I look like I'm wearing a child's outfit! And the elastic band is pretty snug (not attractive, just reiterates the fact that this fits small). Typically, shopbop models are dressed in size S and upon trying, I'd find the S too loose in 'real life', despite the models having similar measurements while being a ton taller...thus, I'd normally opt for the XS...in this case, the S is actually well-advised! And do note the way the sides are cut super high in the pic - that's how they really are on even an average-height person.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 04, 2012
Could've been great
The long-ish sleeves and high front make this look prim and proper. In theory, the very low back should balance things out (or be an interesting twist/surprise), but I just think it's incongruent. Like, you'll look too stuffy for night, cocktails and parties, but too scandalous for day (brunch, and forget the office). I don't need another dress for art galleries only. Too bad! I like the cut otherwise.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted May 03, 2012
I'll try again next year
Ah, a 'white' Rocco! I love/adore my black-on-black Rocco (so early Wang, it's strapless), and thought I'd give myself a new summer bag. Alas, the "Parchment" is not white. It's got a dingy gray look. The striation sounds cool on paper, but in reality makes the lambskin feel a lot more like fabric instead - a winter-y corduroy-y hand feel. Sorry, Alexander. To be sure, the production quality has diminished as well since the early days. :(
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted April 26, 2012
Nicer in pictures
These mirrored pumps do not look as fantastic in person as online...also, the quality is reflected in the low price...:( Too bad, as I'm looking for metallics but the top-end designers are all doing either nudes or neons this season. Taking 1/2 size down was a good idea for me, though.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content