Juliet Dallaire
Montreal, Canada
My Style: Casual Chic, Classic, Minimalism-Love Carolyn Bessette Kennedy
Reviews: 206
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
206 reviews 1 2 3 ... 21
Cheap and Small: Child-like Bracelet
I have very tiny wrists and yet the Karma Bracelet fits me like Bruce Banner's clothes fits the Incredible Hulk. Unless you are very thin and have lots of cash to splurge on this with, I'd pass on this one. It looks cheap to me too. I am very surprised and disappointed.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Looks like a child's bracelet
I may keep this one for my granddaughter, who is now 4 for when she is older. I may return it. I would like to return it. It's so hard to get customs fees back when you pay these directly to Shopbop.com (Customs Canada requires so much paperwork) that I sometimes keep disappointing purchases. I have thin wrists and when I put the Karma Bracelet on, the very last circle is tight: completely tight. It does not hang and it is like the Incredible Hulk, bursting to get out of his clothes. It is very fragile looking too. It reminds me of children's bracelets; hence, why I might keep it for my granddaughter for when she is a few years older. I am very disappointed in it.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Love it!!!
Fashion Box by Antonio Mancinelli is not only filled with the most amazing images of some of the most stylist women, but is deceptive in the best way possible. With its focus on 16 wardrobe staples one might assume limitations on how the author might give the reader ideas on how to dress. So not the case. In addition, the box format is "to die for". It looks beautiful on my ladder bookshelf with my other fashion books.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Great Photos & Well Researched
In my humble opinion, overall a 5/5: PRO: The number & quality of images is first-rate. PRO: The book has a personal touch since the author discusses personal fashion influences, from childhood to the present (including images of family, friends, and herself). PRO: The organization, selected images, & descriptions helped me define my style better than ever before. PRO: The author has researched the topic at a PhD level, from old Hollywood starlets (e.g., Jean Harlow) to modern day icons. PRO: Dorothy Dandridge is included in the book. I've often wondered why Dandridge does not receive the same fashion icon status as Audrey Hepburn. She deserves it. About time. CON: I do not share the author's love of fur. The author advocates for fur. This is in direct opposition to my own ideological views. I wish she loved faux-fur instead. CON: Angelina Jolie is included & I don't quite understand why. All other inclusions are right-on IMHO.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted February 24, 2012
Few Photos; For Fashion Book Collectors
A nice price and some very good advice. However, most of what is contained in the book is likely old news to those drawn to such books. As an additional point, the book contains only a few actual photos (with the author modeling in these or no model at all). Instead, the majority of images are drawn - almost cartoon-like. Perhaps this will make the images in the book remain relevant longer; however, I prefer more realistic images. For me, a copy of "InStyle" or "Glamour" containing an article on closets is as useful or maybe even more so than this book. I am glad to have it though as it is a nice book to add to my collection of such books and it looks cool on the bookshelf with the other fashion books.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
4 Stars Since It Is Brass & Loses Shine
Gorgeous!!! It can be adjusted to fit very small wrists too. For example, I can fit it onto my granddaughter's 2 year old wrist (not that she would actually be wearing it at this point). The ducks are very detailed. The only flaw is that it is brass and hence won't be shiny as pictured for too long. My copy is very dull and brassy now. But I am told that a bit of lemon could shine it up easily.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
For Fans of Grace Kelly & Old Hollywood
This book is a great gift for fans of old Hollywood and fans of actresses like Grace Kelly, because of course Edith Head was the insanely talented costume designer for many old films (e.g., "Rear Window"). It is also an interesting historical document that one might see used as an example in sociology classes. On both counts, this book is a win-win purchase for me. In relation to sociology (e.g., gender analysis), the book contains advice on "Getting and Keeping a Husband," including, "1. Decide want kind of man you want; 2. Find out what kind of girls he likes; 3. Know what kind of fashions pleases him; 4. Don't masquerade in clothes you hate just to attract a man. Be sure you are really, deep down in side, this kind of girl. If not, find another man!" My advice, inspired by the no holes-barred writing of Edith Head: If sociology or old Hollywood does not interest you, find another book! :0) :0) :0)
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 11, 2014
Lightweight
I chose "larger than expected" because I am plus size on the bottom (12 to 14, even a 16 sometimes with zippers) and the size LARGE fits me. Yah. I am unsure how the draw string rope tie at the waist (that lends a nautical theme) is going to work. I'd love a bit of elastic so it would stay up naturally. I may have to belt this skirt to "keep it on." IMHO, the textured stripe, which is very lightweight, is lovely and special. The pleated, A-line shape is likely to compliment most body types. I expected it to 'balloon out,' but it did not. I knocked off one star for (1) concerns on how it will stay put given the simple draw string rope tie/no elastic and (2) the price-point. I pay customs too, which makes it even more costly - even on sale. Due to my 'pot belly,' I won't be able to wear this with the drawstring showing. A simple long t-shirt and cardigan will cover that part. I'll wear this skirt in the fall with navy tights and navy ballet flats.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted August 29, 2014
Material too thin;slit too high;too long
I had great luck with my first - OTHER - Splendid skirt, the classic Splendid full skirt rendered in jersey, with an inset elastic waist, slant hip pockets, and unlined. Its fabric is jersey; 47% cotton/47% modal/6% spandex. But this one was a HUGE disappointment. It is soft jersey; 47% pima cotton/47% modal/6% spandex - which is very different. As a previous reviewer stated, "it's very thin so feels a little bit like a long nightgown. I wish it would have been a little bit thicker." The so-called elastic waist is very flimsy. After a few wears, I wonder if it will even stay up. The slit is very very high and the skirt is very long. Keep in mind that the model is 5'9" and it still reaches the floor in the image. Good news: the large fit me and I am about a 12 to 14 on bottom. Just need to cover by "pot belly" with a long shirt if I wear it. I don't think I will ever wear it though because the soft jersey is too thin.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Yuck: Larger & Smaller Than Expected
In my opinion, I could find this exact skirt (or near identical) in any bohemian downtown store in a Canadian city. The stores that sell bohemian clothing, tapestries, incense, accessories, and housewares sell this kind of thing for much cheaper. And while I paid $49.53 for customs and another $207.03 for the skirt (more in Canadian dollars; that's US dollars), I could get a very similar or identical skirt for under $50 Canadian dollars here. I am very disappointed in Mes Demoiselles. "In person" the skirt does not resemble the image of the skirt posted here. For one, I am 5 foot 9 inches and it comes down to my feet. Larger than expected in this way. The elastic waist does not have much stretch at all. Smaller than expected in this way. Shopbop must have had the best steamer ever known to humans to pull off making this skirt look so good in the images. Yuck is my final word on this skirt. Yuck. Yuck. Sending it back on the same day it arrived.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content