Juliet Dallaire
Montreal, Canada
My Style: Casual Chic, Classic, Minimalism-Love Carolyn Bessette Kennedy
Reviews: 209
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
209 reviews 1 2 3 ... 21
Posted September 09, 2010
Considering Other Juliet&Co. Jewelry Now
I have been considering these particular pearl earrings for awhile; however, I was hesitant, thinking the earrings might be less appealing in person given their price tag of $20 U.S. The selling point for me was the previous review. I second it!!! "Wow, $20 for these gorgeous earrings? What a steal!" Also, since I am plus size (16 to 18 on top), and a little over 5'8", I was happy to know, thanks again to the previous reviewer, that these earrings would be "a bit larger than most pearl earrings." The size is perfect for me, and "as expected" (thanks to the previous reviewer). I have been eyeing other Juliet & Company pearl jewelry, such as the Triple Strand Pearl Necklace, and the sight of these earrings is pushing me to trust in Juliet & Company and BUY BUY BUY. I have not had these long so I am unsure regarding issues of "tear-&-wear," but this was love at first sight. At $20, I would suggest this is a great deal. I am not surprised that only 3 pairs are left in stock.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 30, 2014
1 Size Too Big For Me; Size Down One
I noticed some debate or conflicting views regarding whether to size up or down. For me, the sneakers were clearly 1 size too big. I am a size 10 in Yosi Samra, Hunter, Melissa, etc. Everything but Converse and these were way way too big. I think they may be sized like Converse or close to it. I think that size 9 would fit me. I knew they were way too big as soon as they came out of the box. They look very big overall. Maybe they are wider than what I am use to too. Since so many of this brand are now on sale, perhaps I'll try again. My daughter wants a pair. They are pretty shoes. I would return my size 10 but they are FINAL SALE and cannot be returned. I will donate these to a local soup kitchen.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 18, 2014
Ribbons do not stay put when wrapped.
I purchased both the Pearl Pink and the Black. I prefer the Black. The little girls in my family prefer the Pearl Pink on me. Lol. These certainly bring the magic of ballerina dancers through the square toe shape and ribbons to wrap around the ankle. Alas, the ribbons DO NOT easily stay in place. Also, the ribbon on one of my Pearl Pink shoes is shorter than needed (it's hard to tie it) and thus shorter than the ribbon on the other shoe. Melissa is truly the master of jellies trend however. If you have allergies, be ware: all Melissa shoes are infused with a signature fragrance. I'll be wearing these rain-or-shine. I do find them very wide however and wish they were true to size. I am a TRUE size 10 in Yosi Samra shoes.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 18, 2014
Wide & size 10 larger than I am use to
I purchased both the Pearl Pink and the Black. I like the Black best. I ordered size 10. I am size 10 in Yosi Samara (if that helps). The size 10 are a little big, but still fit. Maybe a 9.5 would be perfect for me. If not for the burden of returns and the chance that 9 would be too small, I'd try the 9 instead. These would be fine on people with wide feet, I suspect. I like that there is no leather. How nice to find a cool and fashionable shoe with no leather. I suspect I shall wear these with my long black Ella Moss Tessa Eyelet Midi Skirt and with Capri leggings. I like best the idea of street looks for an unexpected contrast or abusing the feminine look by pairing these with waist dresses. At $96.31 USD they are reasonably priced; but a higher price-point would be too much in my humble opinion. I look forward to prancing around in these.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 11, 2014
Lightweight
I chose "larger than expected" because I am plus size on the bottom (12 to 14, even a 16 sometimes with zippers) and the size LARGE fits me. Yah. I am unsure how the draw string rope tie at the waist (that lends a nautical theme) is going to work. I'd love a bit of elastic so it would stay up naturally. I may have to belt this skirt to "keep it on." IMHO, the textured stripe, which is very lightweight, is lovely and special. The pleated, A-line shape is likely to compliment most body types. I expected it to 'balloon out,' but it did not. I knocked off one star for (1) concerns on how it will stay put given the simple draw string rope tie/no elastic and (2) the price-point. I pay customs too, which makes it even more costly - even on sale. Due to my 'pot belly,' I won't be able to wear this with the drawstring showing. A simple long t-shirt and cardigan will cover that part. I'll wear this skirt in the fall with navy tights and navy ballet flats.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 08, 2014
Not for long walks; great for my life.
I own 3 black, 2 red, and tons of cap-toed Yosi Samra. I have so many, I'd have to count them to tell you exactly how many. How's that for a positive review? But I use them for teaching, walking around the halls of my campus, and for short bus rides to the mall. You will not find support and comfort for long walks in these shoes. "You will have sores and your feet will itch," my daughter said of her shoes. She tried using her Yosi Samra for longer walks and it was painful. As for size, this style - the rounded toe - is true to size. However, other Yosi Samras can feel tight. I like the more rounded toe ones, like these. I wear my Yosi Samra shoes with tights and skirts, with jeans, with leggings, etc. They go with everything. I never have a problem finding shoes to match my outfits with my collection of Yosi Samras. They take-up little space in one's closet.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 05, 2014
Pink-red; elastic not flexible; pricey.
1.It's lighter in colour&more pink than the images shown.B4 purchasing it,I checked out other online images&now find the more pink images more accurate.Not a whole lot pinker,but certainly not dark red.2.The elastic doesn't stretch a lot.I'm about a 12-14 on bottom & the LARGE is a little snug with my pot belly. I'll wear it under the muffin top with a long t-shirt.3.This is a good choice for other women my size,who can afford it & who also probably experience the inability to find cute&cool clothes.4.It's over-priced, even on sale.It's just a cotton skirt really - a bit of silk.Looks 100% cotton.UR paying for label.I buy over-priced items since there's not a lot for women my size (18-20/top;12-14/bottom) to choose from & certainly not in my 'neck of the woods'.5.Slight pleating is fine with me because I have no hips & a flat bottom.6.Two pockets placed at either side of the hip is real nice.7.Fully lined.8.A-line skirt is flattering on a lot of us.Final Verdict: Too pricey;but sweet.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Outside Use Is 3 x Less Life Than Inside
I only wear Yosi Samra, and one pair of boots and a pair of sneakers. I have dozens of Yosi Samra ballet flats. This is how much I love them. I try to wait for the styles I like to go on sale, due to the customs (import fees) to get anything into Canada. These are gorgeous. The brown is a little lighter in person than in the photo. I bought these for myself, but my 30 year old daughter took them. Lol. I find these TRUE TO SIZE. I have a lot and wear them for the most part inside; so they have lasting power. They are not meant for walking long distances in my opinion: (1) get torn up on the streets and (2) not comfortable walking shoes/lack support. My daughter wears her outside a lot and while my pairs look brand-new, her pairs look worn at 3 to 4 times the rate.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted August 29, 2014
Material too thin;slit too high;too long
I had great luck with my first - OTHER - Splendid skirt, the classic Splendid full skirt rendered in jersey, with an inset elastic waist, slant hip pockets, and unlined. Its fabric is jersey; 47% cotton/47% modal/6% spandex. But this one was a HUGE disappointment. It is soft jersey; 47% pima cotton/47% modal/6% spandex - which is very different. As a previous reviewer stated, "it's very thin so feels a little bit like a long nightgown. I wish it would have been a little bit thicker." The so-called elastic waist is very flimsy. After a few wears, I wonder if it will even stay up. The slit is very very high and the skirt is very long. Keep in mind that the model is 5'9" and it still reaches the floor in the image. Good news: the large fit me and I am about a 12 to 14 on bottom. Just need to cover by "pot belly" with a long shirt if I wear it. I don't think I will ever wear it though because the soft jersey is too thin.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Yuck: Larger & Smaller Than Expected
In my opinion, I could find this exact skirt (or near identical) in any bohemian downtown store in a Canadian city. The stores that sell bohemian clothing, tapestries, incense, accessories, and housewares sell this kind of thing for much cheaper. And while I paid $49.53 for customs and another $207.03 for the skirt (more in Canadian dollars; that's US dollars), I could get a very similar or identical skirt for under $50 Canadian dollars here. I am very disappointed in Mes Demoiselles. "In person" the skirt does not resemble the image of the skirt posted here. For one, I am 5 foot 9 inches and it comes down to my feet. Larger than expected in this way. The elastic waist does not have much stretch at all. Smaller than expected in this way. Shopbop must have had the best steamer ever known to humans to pull off making this skirt look so good in the images. Yuck is my final word on this skirt. Yuck. Yuck. Sending it back on the same day it arrived.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content