Juliet Dallaire
Montreal, Canada
My Style: Casual Chic, Classic, Minimalism-Love Carolyn Bessette Kennedy
Reviews: 213
Average Rating: 4.0
REVIEWS & RATINGS
213 reviews 1 2 3 ... 22
Posted April 24, 2015
Reese Witherspoon Has It.
Reese Witherspoon has this exact same skirt. I had my mind made-up that I was going to get it even before I saw Reese photographed in it. But I must admit, seeing that was the icing on the cake. I am not disappointed. I got it at 25% off; but I think it is worth the full price. I think Reese may have gotten it shortened because I am 5'8" or so and it is very long on me. I love it because I am also about a size 14 to 16 (think GAP zippered skirts) and it fits me. The skirt also reminds me of a less formal version of the white skirt that Grace Kelly wears when she first appears on screen in REAR WINDOW with Jimmy Stewart. If you can afford it, can get it shortened if need be, and love skirts, I suggest BUY BUY BUY.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted April 20, 2015
LARGE Works For This Plus Size Gal
I wish it was more red than orange, so the 4 stars as opposed to 5 stars is due to this. Also, 4 stars since I think the elastic will give way quickly. It is a lovely skirt though because the material is strong and I, at a size 14 (Think GAP sizes with a zipper) fit the LARGE perfectly. So, us plus size gals, could fit into this one (at a 14 to 16 on bottom I suspect). I am top-heavy, with a flat bottom; so, other plus size gals reading this might want to keep that in mind. I wear it low on my waist too so that it does not flair out as big as it does when I wear it on my widest part. In closing, I should mention that I got it on sale, and then with 25% additional off. Like most things in life, I don't think it is worth the original price. I bought a JOA skirt, much cheaper, the same day and it's better quality IMHO. I hope this review helps.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted March 02, 2015
K A R L theme is priceless
The image of K A R L makes this a prize. I own several fashion pop culture themed YARNZ scarves and cannot imagine ever giving them away or discarding them in other ways. This one is particularly thin, which I like because I wear scarves inside as a central part of my daily wardrobe. Of course I wish it was a little less expensive, especially with IMPORT FEES. However, 9 times out of 10 my YARNZ scarves have been worth the price. I do not like the thicker ones though and have several, I have not worn. I predict: you'll have the K A R L one - this one - forever.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted February 03, 2015
Gold is a bit cheap looking; gaudy too.
The black beads are arguably a little gaudy. According to my daughter, the necklace is "showy in a tasteless or vulgar way" and "colourful as in 'garish'". I am keeping it. With a very PLAIN black or white tank it will be fun. You wouldn't want to get too colourful with your wardrobe wearing this; maybe skip the earrings. The gold is a bit cheap looking. I prefer vermeil (who wouldn't I guess). I got this on sale, so I am ok with it. Probably not worth its original tag price. It is packaged in a cool little orange and white striped string bag.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 30, 2014
Adore this.... Perfect.
It is tough to find non-leather products that are beautiful and/or cool. Not this time. The Blind Mouse Clutch is so cool and GORGEOUS. This is one of the BEST products I have bought on ShopBop to date. I have the Navy; but will pick-up the other colours too, as long as they are non-leather. My pens fit nicely in it, even within their H&M thin 7-inch-by-2-inch pencil case. Love, love, LOVE. This is perfect to carry my pencils, tiny notebook, and USBs drive to class when I teach.
Sizing: True to Size / As Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 30, 2014
Not a Cinderella fit this time: tight
I wear mainly only Yosi Samra. I find these great for my life-style. But they are not "made for walkin'." They keep their shape etc. when they are used mainly inside. A bit of rain and bit of pavement wear and they wear out fast(er). I am usually a size 10 in this style. But this cap toe, which I have in several other colours, are a little tight. In other words, Yosi Samra can sometimes vary in regards to size. Some of mine might be better as an 11, but most are perfect as a 10. It's rare but it happens that a 10 is too tight for me. Some styles in Yosi Samra fit differently than others; but the cap toes are usually perfect for me. These were not a Cinderella fit this time however.
Sizing: Smaller than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted October 30, 2014
1 Size Too Big For Me; Size Down One
I noticed some debate or conflicting views regarding whether to size up or down. For me, the sneakers were clearly 1 size too big. I am a size 10 in Yosi Samra, Hunter, Melissa, etc. Everything but Converse and these were way way too big. I think they may be sized like Converse or close to it. I think that size 9 would fit me. I knew they were way too big as soon as they came out of the box. They look very big overall. Maybe they are wider than what I am use to too. Since so many of this brand are now on sale, perhaps I'll try again. My daughter wants a pair. They are pretty shoes. I would return my size 10 but they are FINAL SALE and cannot be returned. I will donate these to a local soup kitchen.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 18, 2014
Ribbons do not stay put when wrapped.
I purchased both the Pearl Pink and the Black. I prefer the Black. The little girls in my family prefer the Pearl Pink on me. Lol. These certainly bring the magic of ballerina dancers through the square toe shape and ribbons to wrap around the ankle. Alas, the ribbons DO NOT easily stay in place. Also, the ribbon on one of my Pearl Pink shoes is shorter than needed (it's hard to tie it) and thus shorter than the ribbon on the other shoe. Melissa is truly the master of jellies trend however. If you have allergies, be ware: all Melissa shoes are infused with a signature fragrance. I'll be wearing these rain-or-shine. I do find them very wide however and wish they were true to size. I am a TRUE size 10 in Yosi Samra shoes.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 18, 2014
Wide & size 10 larger than I am use to
I purchased both the Pearl Pink and the Black. I like the Black best. I ordered size 10. I am size 10 in Yosi Samara (if that helps). The size 10 are a little big, but still fit. Maybe a 9.5 would be perfect for me. If not for the burden of returns and the chance that 9 would be too small, I'd try the 9 instead. These would be fine on people with wide feet, I suspect. I like that there is no leather. How nice to find a cool and fashionable shoe with no leather. I suspect I shall wear these with my long black Ella Moss Tessa Eyelet Midi Skirt and with Capri leggings. I like best the idea of street looks for an unexpected contrast or abusing the feminine look by pairing these with waist dresses. At $96.31 USD they are reasonably priced; but a higher price-point would be too much in my humble opinion. I look forward to prancing around in these.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content
Posted September 11, 2014
Lightweight
I chose "larger than expected" because I am plus size on the bottom (12 to 14, even a 16 sometimes with zippers) and the size LARGE fits me. Yah. I am unsure how the draw string rope tie at the waist (that lends a nautical theme) is going to work. I'd love a bit of elastic so it would stay up naturally. I may have to belt this skirt to "keep it on." IMHO, the textured stripe, which is very lightweight, is lovely and special. The pleated, A-line shape is likely to compliment most body types. I expected it to 'balloon out,' but it did not. I knocked off one star for (1) concerns on how it will stay put given the simple draw string rope tie/no elastic and (2) the price-point. I pay customs too, which makes it even more costly - even on sale. Due to my 'pot belly,' I won't be able to wear this with the drawstring showing. A simple long t-shirt and cardigan will cover that part. I'll wear this skirt in the fall with navy tights and navy ballet flats.
Sizing: Larger than Expected
 
report inappropriate content